Home equity line of credit (HELOC) · United States
Better HELOC: what $50,000 costs by the day you sell
We cannot produce a reliable comparable illustration from the published terms. A required rate or share may be missing, or published examples may conflict. We leave the number blank instead of selecting an unsupported assumption.
Everything below is what the provider does state publicly, with the parts it does not state marked as such.
What does the provider publish?
Better publishes the terms below on its own pages; each line links to the page it was read from.
| Term | As published | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Highest published APR | 15.55% | source |
| Rate type | variable, Prime Rate (Wall Street Journal)-based | source |
| Full draw required | no | source |
| Minimum credit score | 620 | source |
| Maximum combined loan-to-value | 90% | source |
| Minimum amount | $50,000 | source |
| Maximum amount | $500,000 | source |
| States | all states other than TX | source |
Notes from the page; text in quotation marks is quoted verbatim. “$50,000 to $500,000 line; up to 90% of your property's value; minimum draw $50,000 or 75% of your credit limit, whichever is greater; you'll only pay interest on what you withdraw. Better does not offer fixed-rate HELOCs.” checked 2026-08-25
Lowest published APR: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Origination fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Annual fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Closing costs: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Early payoff: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Draw period: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Repayment period: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Interest-only during draw: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
States: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Minimum home value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Flat fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Who owns it?
Who owns this company is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- You cannot budget from this page. Ask the provider, in writing, for the rate or the share, every fee, the term, and what you would owe if you sold in year 3, 5, and 10 on the value of your own home.
- Ask whether there is a cap on what you repay, and whether the starting value is adjusted below the appraisal. Those two terms move the answer more than the fee.
- Providers that do publish enough to compute are listed in the full list.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review. We have not used Better, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published terms turn into by the day you sell.
Sources
- Better terms page. checked 2026-08-25
- Better: states. checked 2026-08-25
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Every product we hold, and which publish enough to compute
- Put your own home value and sale year in
- The three numbers that decide what home equity costs
- How these figures are produced
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.