Home equity investment (HEI) · United States

Hometap Home Equity Investment: what $50,000 costs by the day you sell

We could not read this provider's cost terms. Its pages either draw the figures with scripts that did not run when we retrieved them, or refused our checker's connection. That is our limitation, not a refusal by the provider, and we will not put a number here that we did not read.

Everything below is what the provider does state publicly, with the parts it does not state marked as such.

What does the provider publish?

We could not read this provider's cost terms. Its pages either draw the figures with scripts that did not run when we retrieved them, or refused our checker's connection. That is our limitation, not a refusal by the provider, and we will not put a number here that we did not read.

What Hometap publishes, copied as stated. checked 2026-08-25
TermAs publishedWhere
Term10 yearssource
How the share is seta share of the home's value at salesource
Maximum amount$600,000source

Notes from the page; text in quotation marks is quoted verbatim. “A Hometap Investment gives you access to your equity - in the form of cash - in exchange for a share of your home's future value. A Hometap HEI has a ten (10) year term. up to $600,000. The maximum percentage of equity a homeowner can access is 24.99%. Pricing page: 'X% of their current home value, and in exchange, we earn a Y% minority stake'; 'the Hometap Share would be 15% for 0-3 years' when accessing 10% of equity (later-year tiers not shown). 'Hometap Investments feature a cap that is an annualized rate of return' (no number). No fee %, third-party costs, credit score or states list were readable (hometap.com/faqs and /legal/licenses returned 403). Re-tried 2026-08-25 in the requester's Chrome from Japan: hometap.com/blog/how-hometap-pricing-works returned 403 Forbidden, so the pricing wording above could not be re-read.” checked 2026-08-25

Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

States: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Minimum credit score: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Maximum combined loan-to-value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Minimum amount: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Minimum home value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Origination fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Third-party costs: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Third-party costs (high end): not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Multiplier on the share: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Cap on the payoff: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

A worked example with home value, cash, years, sale value, and payoff: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Who owns it?

Who owns this company is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.

Where this leaves you

Who this page is not for

This is not a review. We have not used Hometap, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published terms turn into by the day you sell.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.