Home equity loan (fixed) · United States
Navy Federal Fixed-Rate Home Equity Loan: what $50,000 costs by the day you sell
In our illustration, take $50,000 from a $500,000 home through Navy Federal Credit Union and sell in year 10: the model produces $36,341 more than you received, an annualized modeled cost of 8.7%. Sold in year 5 the cost is $19,725.
That uses the lowest APR the page publishes, 8.35%, held flat, which is an advertised minimum.
What does the provider publish?
Navy Federal Credit Union publishes the terms below on its own pages; each line links to the page it was read from.
| Term | As published | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest published APR | 8.35% (as low as) | source |
| Highest published APR | 8.35% | source |
| Rate type | fixed | source |
| Flat fee | $0 | source |
| Annual fee | none | source |
| Closing costs | none, as published — Navy Federal will pay for all closing costs on fixed-rate equity loan applications. | source |
| Early payoff | None | source |
| Term options | 5, 10, 15, 20 years | source |
| Maximum combined loan-to-value | 100% | source |
| Minimum amount | $10,000 | source |
| Maximum amount | $500,000 | source |
Notes from the page; text in quotation marks is quoted verbatim. “Fixed Equity 5 Years as low as 7.340%; 10 Years 7.650%; 15 Years 7.950%; 20 Years 8.350% APR; max loan $500,000. Rates assume a 750 FICO, primary residence, and a 70% maximum HLTV. Navy Federal will pay for all closing costs on fixed-rate equity loan applications (typical member costs $300-$2,000 for loans up to $250,000). No pre-payment penalties. $10,000 - $500,000; up to 100% of your home's equity. Membership (military affiliation) required. Rechecked 2026-09-29: The 7.34% advertised APR is for the 5-year loan; this row models the 20-year term, published at 8.35% APR.” checked 2026-09-29
States: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Minimum credit score: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Minimum home value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
What does it cost by the day you sell?
The table applies the published terms to one scenario, the same one used for every product on this site. No upfront fee is published, so none is added.
| Sold in | Paid along the way | Owed at sale | Upfront fees | Total cost | Annualized |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year 3 | $15,450 | $46,689 | $0 | $12,139 | 8.7% |
| year 5 | $25,751 | $43,974 | $0 | $19,725 | 8.7% |
| year 10 | $51,501 | $34,840 | $0 | $36,341 | 8.7% |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Every rate is the lowest the provider publishes, so where a page says “as low as” the figure is an illustrative starting scenario. An “up to” fee is modeled at its stated maximum; the actual fee may be lower. APR is used as a proxy for the payment rate when no separate note rate is published. Variable rates are held flat. Eligibility, unpublished charges, taxes and insurance are excluded. These figures are neither quotes nor guaranteed lower bounds. Read the method.
Who owns it?
States that it is independently owned. Source. checked 2026-09-29
Where this leaves you
- If rates rise, this figure does not hold: it uses 8.35% flat.
- If the year-10 cost is what matters, U.S. Bank works out at $20,908 on the same scenario — compare the two.
- Do not decide yet if you do not know when you will sell: this product costs $12,139 at a sale in year 3 and $36,341 in year 10, and the right comparison is against your own sale year and home value, not ours.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review. We have not used Navy Federal Credit Union, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published terms turn into by the day you sell.
Sources
- Navy Federal Credit Union terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- Navy Federal Credit Union: maximum combined loan-to-value. checked 2026-09-29
- Ownership source. checked 2026-09-29
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Navy Federal Credit Union alternatives, by cost at sale
- Every product we hold, and which publish enough to compute
- Put your own home value and sale year in
- The three numbers that decide what home equity costs
- How these figures are produced
- Navy Federal Credit Union vs U.S. Bank
- Navy Federal Credit Union vs Regions Bank
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.