Home equity line of credit (HELOC) · United States
PenFed Home Equity Line of Credit: what $50,000 costs by the day you sell
We cannot produce a reliable comparable illustration from the published terms. A required rate or share may be missing, or published examples may conflict. We leave the number blank instead of selecting an unsupported assumption.
Current product page does not expose the 6.75% APR in readable published text; the rate cannot be reverified for this scenario.
Everything below is what the provider does state publicly, with the parts it does not state marked as such.
What does the provider publish?
PenFed Credit Union publishes the terms below on its own pages; each line links to the page it was read from.
| Term | As published | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest published APR | 6.75% (as low as) | source |
| Highest published APR | 18% | source |
| Rate type | variable, Prime-based | source |
| Annual fee | $99 | source |
| Closing costs | none, as published — PenFed will pay most closing costs associated with a HELOC (credit report, flood certification, settlement/closing, title search, recording); member pays appraisal if required and certain state taxes in FL, LA, MD, MN, NY, TN, VA. Closing costs range between $500 and $8,500 for credit lines of $500,000. | source |
| Draw period | 10 years | source |
| Repayment period | 20 years | source |
| Maximum combined loan-to-value | 85% | source |
| Minimum amount | $25,000 | source |
| Maximum amount | $500,000 | source |
Notes from the page; text in quotation marks is quoted verbatim. “An annual fee of $99 will be assessed on each account anniversary. Draw Period of 10 years, followed by a repayment period of 20 years. Minimum $25,000 (owner-occupied/second home; $4,000 in Texas), maximum $500,000. Maximum CLTV 85% (80% Texas, condos). Rechecked 2026-09-29: Current product page does not expose the 6.75% APR in readable published text; the rate cannot be reverified for this scenario.” checked 2026-08-25
Early payoff: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Minimum credit score: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Interest-only during draw: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
States: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Minimum home value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Origination fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Flat fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Full draw required: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Who owns it?
Who owns this company is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- You cannot budget from this page. Ask the provider, in writing, for the rate or the share, every fee, the term, and what you would owe if you sold in year 3, 5, and 10 on the value of your own home.
- Ask whether there is a cap on what you repay, and whether the starting value is adjusted below the appraisal. Those two terms move the answer more than the fee.
- Providers that do publish enough to compute are listed in the full list.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review. We have not used PenFed Credit Union, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published terms turn into by the day you sell.
Sources
- PenFed Credit Union terms page. checked 2026-08-25
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Every product we hold, and which publish enough to compute
- Put your own home value and sale year in
- The three numbers that decide what home equity costs
- How these figures are produced
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.