Home equity investment (HEI) · United States
Point Home Equity Investment (HEI): what $50,000 costs by the day you sell
We cannot produce a reliable comparable illustration from the published terms. A required rate or share may be missing, or published examples may conflict. We leave the number blank instead of selecting an unsupported assumption.
Everything below is what the provider does state publicly, with the parts it does not state marked as such.
What does the provider publish?
Point publishes the terms below on its own pages; each line links to the page it was read from.
| Term | As published | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Origination fee | up to 3.9% of the cash, $2,000 minimum | source |
| Term | 30 years | source |
| How the share is set | the cash back, plus a share of the gain in value | source |
| Starting-value adjustment | 27% below appraised value | source |
| Provider's example | $50,000 on a $500,000 home; sold in year 5 at $593,800; provider receives $114,300 | source |
| Minimum credit score | 500 | source |
| Minimum amount | $30,000 | source |
| Maximum amount | $600,000 | source |
| States | Point's HEI product is offered as a licensed mortgage product in Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Maryland, North Carolina, Oregon, Washington, and Wisconsin. | source |
Notes from the page; text in quotation marks is quoted verbatim. “Point charges up to a 3.9% processing fee (subject to a $2,000 minimum) and other third party paid closing costs such as appraisal, escrow, and government fees. You can buy back your equity at any time within a 30-year term. Get $30k - $600k. 500+ credit scores. Example (Tim): Tim's home is worth: $500,000; we apply a home value risk adjustment of 27% (Appreciation Starting Value $365,000); average appreciation scenario (3.5%/yr, 5 years): home sells for $593,800, Point receives $114,300. Point's share of appreciation % is not stated as a fixed number on the page; help center example only: 'Point's share 30%' of a $200,000 gain. Homeowner Protection Cap: 'a fixed annual rate, compounded monthly' - rate not disclosed (https://help.point.com/article/135-how-does-the-homeowner-protection-cap-work).” checked 2026-08-25
Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Maximum combined loan-to-value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Minimum home value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Third-party costs: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Third-party costs (high end): not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Share of the gain: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Cap on the payoff: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Who owns it?
Who owns this company is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- You cannot budget from this page. Ask the provider, in writing, for the rate or the share, every fee, the term, and what you would owe if you sold in year 3, 5, and 10 on the value of your own home.
- Ask whether there is a cap on what you repay, and whether the starting value is adjusted below the appraisal. Those two terms move the answer more than the fee.
- Providers that do publish enough to compute are listed in the full list.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review. We have not used Point, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published terms turn into by the day you sell.
Sources
- Point terms page. checked 2026-08-25
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Every product we hold, and which publish enough to compute
- Put your own home value and sale year in
- The three numbers that decide what home equity costs
- How these figures are produced
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.