Home equity loan (fixed) · United States
Regions Home Equity Loan (HELOAN): what $50,000 costs by the day you sell
In our illustration, take $50,000 from a $500,000 home through Regions Bank and sell in year 10: the model produces $28,732 more than you received, an annualized modeled cost of 7.0%. Sold in year 5 the cost is $15,774.
That uses the lowest APR the page publishes, 6.75%, held flat, which is an advertised minimum.
What does the provider publish?
Regions Bank publishes the terms below on its own pages; each line links to the page it was read from.
| Term | As published | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest published APR | 6.75% (as low as) | source |
| Highest published APR | 13.75% | source |
| Rate type | fixed | source |
| Flat fee | $0 | source |
| Closing costs | none, as published — Bank pays all closing costs | source |
| Term options | 10, 15, 20 years | source |
| Maximum combined loan-to-value | 89% | source |
| Minimum amount | $10,000 | source |
| Maximum amount | $500,000 | source |
| States | Property to be used as collateral must be a primary or secondary residence; be located in a state where Regions has retail branches; and have at least $10,000 equity | source |
Notes from the page; text in quotation marks is quoted verbatim. “Home Equity Loan Annual Percentage Rates (APRs) currently range from 6.75-13.75%, depending on several factors, including occupancy type, lien position, credit score/history, LTV ratio, and loan term. Example: $50,000 loan, 10-year term, 6.75% APR, 120 monthly payments of $574.12. Bank pays all closing costs. $10,000 - $500,000. Up to 89% loan-to-value (first mortgage/primary residence 89%; second mortgage/primary residence 85%; secondary residence 80%; Texas 80%). Terms 10, 15 or 20 years. Late fee 5% of the payment amount ($29 minimum, $100 maximum). No prepayment penalty wording found. Rechecked 2026-09-29 against the official published source; the modeled core terms remained as recorded. Individual terms still depend on offer and eligibility.” checked 2026-09-29
States: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Minimum credit score: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Minimum home value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Early payoff: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Early-payoff window: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Early-payoff charge: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
What does it cost by the day you sell?
The table applies the published terms to one scenario, the same one used for every product on this site. No upfront fee is published, so none is added.
| Sold in | Paid along the way | Owed at sale | Upfront fees | Total cost | Annualized |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year 3 | $13,687 | $46,064 | $0 | $9,751 | 7.0% |
| year 5 | $22,811 | $42,963 | $0 | $15,774 | 7.0% |
| year 10 | $45,622 | $33,110 | $0 | $28,732 | 7.0% |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Every rate is the lowest the provider publishes, so where a page says “as low as” the figure is an illustrative starting scenario. An “up to” fee is modeled at its stated maximum; the actual fee may be lower. APR is used as a proxy for the payment rate when no separate note rate is published. Variable rates are held flat. Eligibility, unpublished charges, taxes and insurance are excluded. These figures are neither quotes nor guaranteed lower bounds. Read the method.
Who owns it?
Owned by Regions Financial Corporation. Source. checked 2026-09-29
Where this leaves you
- If rates rise, this figure does not hold: it uses 6.75% flat.
- If the year-10 cost is what matters, U.S. Bank works out at $20,908 on the same scenario — compare the two.
- Do not decide yet if you do not know when you will sell: this product costs $9,751 at a sale in year 3 and $28,732 in year 10, and the right comparison is against your own sale year and home value, not ours.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review. We have not used Regions Bank, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published terms turn into by the day you sell.
Sources
- Regions Bank terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- Ownership source. checked 2026-09-29
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Regions Bank alternatives, by cost at sale
- Every product we hold, and which publish enough to compute
- Put your own home value and sale year in
- The three numbers that decide what home equity costs
- How these figures are produced
- Regions Bank vs U.S. Bank
- Regions Bank vs Navy Federal Credit Union
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.