Home equity investment (HEI) · United States
Splitero Home Equity Investment: what $50,000 costs by the day you sell
In our illustration, take $50,000 from a $500,000 home through Splitero and sell in year 10: the model produces $86,892 more than you received, an annualized modeled cost of 11.0%. Sold in year 5 the cost is $68,427.
The provider takes 20.0% of the home's value at sale for 10% of it today — the multiplier the provider publishes.
What does the provider publish?
Splitero publishes the terms below on its own pages; each line links to the page it was read from.
| Term | As published | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Origination fee | 5% of the cash | source |
| How the share is set | a share of the home's value at sale | source |
| Multiplier on the share | 2x the percentage of value taken | source |
| Cap on the payoff | 17.99% a year | source |
| Provider's example | $100,000 on a $1,000,000 home; sold in year 5 at $1,200,000; provider receives $240,000 | source |
| Minimum credit score | 500 | source |
| Minimum home value | $200,000 | source |
Notes from the page; text in quotation marks is quoted verbatim. “Read in the requester's Chrome (page is script-rendered). 'You can get up to 25% of your Initial Appraised Value, less origination fees and costs, in exchange for a share of your home's future value.' 'Split Percentage: the percentage of home equity, determined at origination, that Splitero shares when you repurchase.' '17.99% Annual Rate, Compounded Monthly - Safety Cap protects your repurchase amount.' 5-year example: Initial Appraised Value $1,000,000; Splitero's Investment and Cash to Homeowner $100,000 (10%), less origination fees and costs; Estimated Repurchase Home Value $1,200,000; Estimated Repurchase Amount $240,000 = 20% Split Percentage or the Safety Cap, whichever is less. 'Your term runs as long as your senior mortgage.' Eligibility page: 500 minimum credit score; home value at least $200,000. Origination fee amount not stated on the pricing page. Rechecked 2026-09-29: Splitero official article says 5% origination fee and third-party appraisal/title fees typically 3-5% of cash; the latter remain omitted from the model because the amount varies.” checked 2026-09-29
Share of the gain: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Maximum amount: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Maximum combined loan-to-value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Minimum amount: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Starting-value adjustment: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
States: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Term: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Third-party costs (high end): not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Third-party costs: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
What does it cost by the day you sell?
The table applies the published terms to one scenario, the same one used for every product on this site. Upfront: 5% origination = $2,500.
| Sold in | Paid along the way | Owed at sale | Upfront fees | Total cost | Annualized |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year 3 | $0 | $85,432 capped | $2,500 | $37,932 | 21.6% |
| year 5 | $0 | $115,927 | $2,500 | $68,427 | 19.5% |
| year 10 | $0 | $134,392 | $2,500 | $86,892 | 11.0% |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Every rate is the lowest the provider publishes, so where a page says “as low as” the figure is an illustrative starting scenario. An “up to” fee is modeled at its stated maximum; the actual fee may be lower. APR is used as a proxy for the payment rate when no separate note rate is published. Variable rates are held flat. Eligibility, unpublished charges, taxes and insurance are excluded. These figures are neither quotes nor guaranteed lower bounds. Read the method.
Who owns it?
Who owns this company is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- If you expect to sell within three years, the cost is $37,932 and the provider's cap is what sets it.
- If your home does not gain 3% a year, the figure moves with it: a flat market lowers what you owe on this product and leaves a loan unchanged, which is the one way an HEI can come out ahead.
- If the year-10 cost is what matters, Unison works out at $82,533 on the same scenario — compare the two.
- Do not decide yet if you do not know when you will sell: this product costs $37,932 at a sale in year 3 and $86,892 in year 10, and the right comparison is against your own sale year and home value, not ours.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review. We have not used Splitero, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published terms turn into by the day you sell.
Sources
- Splitero terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- Splitero: minimum credit score. checked 2026-09-29
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Splitero alternatives, by cost at sale
- Every product we hold, and which publish enough to compute
- Put your own home value and sale year in
- The three numbers that decide what home equity costs
- How these figures are produced
- Splitero vs Unison
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.