Home equity investment (HEI) · United States

Unison Equity Sharing Agreement: what $50,000 costs by the day you sell

In our illustration, take $50,000 from a $500,000 home through Unison and sell in year 10: the model produces $82,533 more than you received, an annualized modeled cost of 10.8%. Sold in year 5 the cost is $45,605.

You return the $50,000 plus 40.0% of the gain, measured from a starting value set 5% below the appraisal.

What does the provider publish?

Unison publishes the terms below on its own pages; each line links to the page it was read from.

What Unison publishes, copied as stated. checked 2026-09-29
TermAs publishedWhere
Origination fee3.9% of the cashsource
Third-party costs$1,800 to $4,050source
Term30 yearssource
How the share is setthe cash back, plus a share of the gain in valuesource
Share of the gain40% of the change in valuesource
Starting-value adjustment5% below appraised valuesource
Provider's example$50,000 on a $500,000 home; sold in year 10 at $575,000; provider receives $90,000source
Minimum amount$30,000source
Maximum amount$500,000source

Notes from the page; text in quotation marks is quoted verbatim. “Program Guide (May 2023): one-time transaction fee equaling 3.9% of the Initial Payment due to Unison at closing. Appraisal fees generally range from $450 to $1250, inspection costs range from $650 to $1,050 and settlement costs range from $700 to $1,750 (third_party_fees_low/high = sum of the three lows / highs). Investor percentage = 'multiplying the percentage of your home's value you are receiving today by four'; minimum 20%, maximum 60%. Minimum investment size is $30,000; maximum initial payment is $500,000 or 15% of your home's value - whichever is lower. Maximum of 30 years. Example: home value $500,000, initial payment $50,000 (10%), investor percentage 40%, sale after 10 years $575,000, change in value $100,000, Unison's share $40,000, payment to Unison $90,000. '5% risk adjustment to your home's independently appraised value' (https://www.unison.com/equity-sharing-agreement). FAQ answers (states, credit) were not readable. Rechecked 2026-09-29 against the official published source; the modeled core terms remained as recorded. Individual terms still depend on offer and eligibility.” checked 2026-09-29

States: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).

Minimum credit score: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).

Maximum combined loan-to-value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).

Minimum home value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).

Cap on the payoff: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).

What does it cost by the day you sell?

The table applies the published terms to one scenario, the same one used for every product on this site. Upfront: 3.9% origination, $1,800 third-party costs (published low end) = $3,750.

$50,000 taken from a $500,000 home that gains 3% a year, computed from the published terms above at the lowest published rate. checked 2026-09-29
Sold inPaid along the wayOwed at saleUpfront feesTotal costAnnualized
year 3$0$78,545$3,750$32,29519.3%
year 5$0$91,855$3,750$45,60514.7%
year 10$0$128,783$3,750$82,53310.8%

Scroll sideways on a phone.

How that is worked out

home value today = $500,000; cash taken = $50,000 (10% of value) home value in year N = $500,000 x 1.03^N (3% a year, every product) HEI, share of value = multiplier x 10% x home value in year N HEI, principal + share = $50,000 + share x (value in year N - adjusted starting value) HEI cap = $50,000 x (1 + cap/12)^(12N) where the provider publishes a cap HELOC illustration = interest-only using the lowest published APR as a rate proxy, then amortized home equity loan example = amortized using the lowest published APR as a rate proxy total cost at sale (N) = payments made + balance or payoff owed at sale - $50,000 + upfront fees annualized cost = the yearly rate that turns the cash received into everything paid back

Every rate is the lowest the provider publishes, so where a page says “as low as” the figure is an illustrative starting scenario. An “up to” fee is modeled at its stated maximum; the actual fee may be lower. APR is used as a proxy for the payment rate when no separate note rate is published. Variable rates are held flat. Eligibility, unpublished charges, taxes and insurance are excluded. These figures are neither quotes nor guaranteed lower bounds. Read the method.

Who owns it?

Owned by Real Estate Equity Exchange, Inc. d/b/a Unison. Source. checked 2026-09-29

Where this leaves you

Who this page is not for

This is not a review. We have not used Unison, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published terms turn into by the day you sell.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.