Home equity loan (fixed) · United States
U.S. Bank Home Equity Loan: what $50,000 costs by the day you sell
In our illustration, take $50,000 from a $500,000 home through U.S. Bank and sell in year 10: the model produces $20,908 more than you received, an annualized modeled cost of 7.7%. Sold in year 5 the cost is $15,013.
That uses the lowest APR the page publishes, 7.4%, held flat, which is an advertised minimum.
What does the provider publish?
U.S. Bank publishes the terms below on its own pages; each line links to the page it was read from.
| Term | As published | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest published APR | 7.4% (as low as) | source |
| Rate type | fixed | source |
| Flat fee | $0 | source |
| Closing costs | none, as published — Home equity loans do not have closing costs. | source |
| Term | 10 years | source |
| Minimum credit score | 660 | source |
| Maximum combined loan-to-value | 80% | source |
| States | Not available for properties held in a trust in the states of Hawaii, Louisiana, New York, Oklahoma and Rhode Island. | source |
Notes from the page; text in quotation marks is quoted verbatim. “As of August 21, 2026, the fixed Annual Percentage Rate (APR) of 7.15% is available for 10-year second position home equity installment loans $50,000 to $99,999 with loan-to-value (LTV) of 60% or less. In order to receive the lowest rate advertised, a set-up of automatic payments from a U.S. Bank Consumer checking or savings account is required. Minimum FICO score of 660 to qualify (730+ for advertised rate). No. Home equity loans do not have closing costs. Home equity loans have terms up to 30 years. Typically borrow up to 80% of the equity in your home. No early-closure/prepayment fee wording found. Rechecked 2026-09-29: current September 21 disclosure lists 7.40% APR for a 10-year, $50,000-$99,999 second-lien loan at <=60% LTV with autopay; rate and term are modeled together.” checked 2026-09-29
States: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Minimum amount: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Maximum amount: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Minimum home value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Annual fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Early payoff: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Early-payoff window: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Early-payoff charge: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Term options: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
What does it cost by the day you sell?
The table applies the published terms to one scenario, the same one used for every product on this site. No upfront fee is published, so none is added.
| Sold in | Paid along the way | Owed at sale | Upfront fees | Total cost | Annualized |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year 3 | $21,272 | $38,649 | $0 | $9,921 | 7.7% |
| year 5 | $35,454 | $29,559 | $0 | $15,013 | 7.7% |
| year 10 | $70,908 | $0 | $0 | $20,908 | 7.7% |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Every rate is the lowest the provider publishes, so where a page says “as low as” the figure is an illustrative starting scenario. An “up to” fee is modeled at its stated maximum; the actual fee may be lower. APR is used as a proxy for the payment rate when no separate note rate is published. Variable rates are held flat. Eligibility, unpublished charges, taxes and insurance are excluded. These figures are neither quotes nor guaranteed lower bounds. Read the method.
Who owns it?
Owned by U.S. Bancorp. Source. checked 2026-09-29
Where this leaves you
- If rates rise, this figure does not hold: it uses 7.4% flat.
- Do not decide yet if you do not know when you will sell: this product costs $9,921 at a sale in year 3 and $20,908 in year 10, and the right comparison is against your own sale year and home value, not ours.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review. We have not used U.S. Bank, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published terms turn into by the day you sell.
Sources
- U.S. Bank terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- Ownership source. checked 2026-09-29
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- U.S. Bank alternatives, by cost at sale
- Every product we hold, and which publish enough to compute
- Put your own home value and sale year in
- The three numbers that decide what home equity costs
- How these figures are produced
- U.S. Bank vs Regions Bank
- U.S. Bank vs Navy Federal Credit Union
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.