Countertop POS for retail · United Kingdom
Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) alternatives in United Kingdom, ranked by the share of card sales they take
0 of the 4 nearest providers we hold take a smaller share of card sales than Cardnet (Lloyds Bank), which costs 1.07% at £5,000 a month over three years.
None of them is cheaper: Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) takes the smallest share of card sales in this group at that volume.
The group, by effective rate
Every provider in the same category and market that publishes a rate a total can be built from, in order.
| Provider | In person | Monthly fee | Hardware | Effective at £5,000 | You keep |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) (this page) | 0.50% + £0.03 | £21.00 ex VAT | not stated | 1.07% | 98.93% |
| Dojo | 1.20% (no flat fee stated) | none VAT basis not stated | free | 1.20% | 98.80% |
| Elavon | 0.99% (no flat fee stated) | £15.00 VAT basis not stated | not stated | 1.29% | 98.71% |
| Epos Now | 1.70% (no flat fee stated) | none VAT basis not stated | not stated | 1.70% | 98.30% |
| Paymentsense (Nexi) | 1.40% + £0.05 | £20.00 ex VAT | not stated | 2.15% | 97.85% |
UK providers do not publish on the same basis. Monthly fees and hardware are printed exactly as published, and where the provider states the basis we print it. At 20% VAT an ex-VAT fee is 1.2 times higher on the invoice, so an ex-VAT figure and an inc-VAT figure are not comparable as printed. We do not convert between them.
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
The average sale is an assumption of this site, not a published figure: $25.00 in the United States and £20.00 in the United Kingdom. It decides how heavily a per-transaction fee lands, so the calculator lets you change it. Interchange, chargebacks, refunds, currency conversion, sales tax and VAT are not in any figure on this site, because the pricing page does not price them for a given shop. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.
When to stay where you are
Conditions under which the table above should not move you.
- Nothing in this group takes a smaller share, so rate alone is not a reason to move away from Cardnet (Lloyds Bank).
- Watch the monthly fees. Elavon (£15.00), Paymentsense (Nexi) (£20.00) charge them whether you trade or not, which is what moves the ranking for a quiet shop.
- 1 of these carry a minimum monthly charge, already in the figures above at this volume but heavier below it.
- If the shop takes under £2,000 a month, the ranking is different — put your own takings in rather than reading the £5,000 column.
Who this is not for
This is a price ranking, not a shortlist of better products. We have not used any of these providers. If your reason for moving is the hardware or the support, the order on this page tells you nothing about that.
Sources
- Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
- Dojo pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
- Elavon pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
- Epos Now pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
- Paymentsense (Nexi) pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
Related
- Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) fees in full
- Every provider we hold
- Effective rate calculator
- What a 'get a quote' button is for
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.