Card reader / mobile POS · United Kingdom

PayPal (Zettle) alternatives in United Kingdom, ranked by the share of card sales they take

4 of the 4 nearest providers we hold take a smaller share of card sales than PayPal (Zettle), which costs 1.77% at £5,000 a month over three years.

The lowest is SumUp at 1.41%, a difference of £634 across the three years for a shop of that size.

The group, by effective rate

Every provider in the same category and market that publishes a rate a total can be built from, in order.

Cheapest published plan at each provider, United Kingdom pricing, ordered by the share of card sales it takes at £5,000 a month over three years. Ordering is that number and nothing else — see Method.
ProviderIn personMonthly feeHardwareEffective at £5,000You keep
PayPal (Zettle) (this page)1.75% (no flat fee stated)none ex VAT£29 once1.77%98.23%
SumUp0.99% (no flat fee stated)£19.00 ex VAT£79 once1.41%98.59%
myPOS1.10% + £0.07none VAT basis not statednot stated1.45%98.55%
Barclaycard Payments1.60% (no flat fee stated)none ex VAT£29 once1.62%98.38%
Square1.75%none ex VAT£19 once1.76%98.24%

UK providers do not publish on the same basis. Monthly fees and hardware are printed exactly as published, and where the provider states the basis we print it. At 20% VAT an ex-VAT fee is 1.2 times higher on the invoice, so an ex-VAT figure and an inc-VAT figure are not comparable as printed. We do not convert between them.

Scroll sideways on a phone.

How that is worked out

transactions = monthly card sales / average sale processing = monthly card sales x rate + transactions x per-transaction fee monthly cost = software fee + terminal rental + PCI fee + processing (never below the provider's monthly minimum) three-year cost = monthly cost x 36 + hardware bought outright effective rate = three-year cost / (36 x monthly card sales) what you keep = 100% - effective rate

The average sale is an assumption of this site, not a published figure: $25.00 in the United States and £20.00 in the United Kingdom. It decides how heavily a per-transaction fee lands, so the calculator lets you change it. Interchange, chargebacks, refunds, currency conversion, sales tax and VAT are not in any figure on this site, because the pricing page does not price them for a given shop. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.

When to stay where you are

Conditions under which the table above should not move you.

Who this is not for

This is a price ranking, not a shortlist of better products. We have not used any of these providers. If your reason for moving is the hardware or the support, the order on this page tells you nothing about that.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.