Countertop POS for retail · United Kingdom
United Kingdom countertop POS for retail costs for a shop taking £2,000 to £10,000 a month, by share of card sales
At £5,000 of card sales a month, the 9 published plans we hold take between 1.07% and 2.15% of everything the shop takes.
The lowest is Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) Clover Flex at 1.07% — advertised at 0.50% + £0.03 — which leaves 98.93% with the shop.
At this size, in order
Every figure is the plan's own published rate applied to £5,000 a month, with the monthly fee added and any hardware spread across 36 months.
| Provider and plan | In person | Monthly fee | Hardware | Effective at £5,000 | Cost a month | 3-year cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) Clover Flex | 0.50% + £0.03 | £21.00 ex VAT | not stated | 1.07% | £54 | £1,926 |
| Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) Castles Saturn terminal | 0.50% + £0.03 | £23.00 ex VAT | not stated | 1.11% | £56 | £1,998 |
| Dojo Essential with Tap to Pay on iPhone | 1.20% (no flat fee stated) | none VAT basis not stated | free | 1.20% | £60 | £2,160 |
| Dojo Essential with Dojo Go Max | 1.20% (no flat fee stated) | none VAT basis not stated | £149 once | 1.28% | £60 | £2,309 |
| Elavon Business Booster - Desk | 0.99% (no flat fee stated) | £15.00 VAT basis not stated | not stated | 1.29% | £64 | £2,322 |
| Elavon Core All-in-one | 0.99% (no flat fee stated) | £15.00 VAT basis not stated | not stated | 1.29% | £64 | £2,322 |
| Dojo Plus | 1.20% (no flat fee stated) | £11.99 VAT basis not stated | £179 once | 1.54% | £72 | £2,771 |
| Epos Now Epos Now Payments | 1.70% (no flat fee stated) | none VAT basis not stated | not stated | 1.70% | £85 | £3,060 |
| Paymentsense (Nexi) Point of sale terminal | 1.40% + £0.05 | £20.00 ex VAT | not stated | 2.15% | £107 | £3,868 |
UK providers do not publish on the same basis. Monthly fees and hardware are printed exactly as published, and where the provider states the basis we print it. At 20% VAT an ex-VAT fee is 1.2 times higher on the invoice, so an ex-VAT figure and an inc-VAT figure are not comparable as printed. We do not convert between them.
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
The average sale is an assumption of this site, not a published figure: $25.00 in the United States and £20.00 in the United Kingdom. It decides how heavily a per-transaction fee lands, so the calculator lets you change it. Interchange, chargebacks, refunds, currency conversion, sales tax and VAT are not in any figure on this site, because the pricing page does not price them for a given shop. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.
Where does the answer change?
The order above holds only under these conditions.
- 6 of these plans charge a monthly fee whether the shop trades or not. At this volume it is already in the figures; in a quiet month it is the whole of the bill.
- 3 of these set a minimum monthly charge. Below it the percentage stops mattering and the minimum is what you pay.
- 6 of these publish a percentage and no per-transaction fee. We compute them as though there is none, which is the provider's own claim, not our estimate.
- 2 of these publish a contract length. What leaving early costs is not published by any of them, so it is in no figure here.
- Do not decide yet if the shop is growing past £8,333 a month: Dojo publishes Essential with Tap to Pay on iPhone only up to that figure, so its row stops applying while Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) stays lowest at £25,000 a month, at 0.73%.
Who this is not for
This is not a list of the best countertop POS for retail. It is every plan we hold that a shop of this size could buy, in price order. We have not used these products and we do not rate them.
Sources
- Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
- Dojo pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
- Elavon pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
- Epos Now pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
- Paymentsense (Nexi) pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
Related
- Every provider, and which publish a rate
- Effective rate calculator
- What card payments cost
- Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) fees in full
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.