Card reader / mobile POS · United Kingdom

United Kingdom card readers and mobile POS costs for a shop taking £10,000 to £50,000 a month, by share of card sales

At £25,000 of card sales a month, the 9 published plans we hold take between 1.07% and 3.20% of everything the shop takes.

The lowest is SumUp Payments Plus at 1.07% — advertised at 0.99% (no flat fee stated) — which leaves 98.93% with the shop.

At this size, in order

Every figure is the plan's own published rate applied to £25,000 a month, with the monthly fee added and any hardware spread across 36 months.

Every plan we hold that a shop of this size could buy, ordered by the share of card sales it takes over three years. Ties are broken by the advertised rate, then alphabetically. Nothing else affects the order, and no position on this page is for sale. 9 plans, checked 2026-09-18.
Provider and planIn personMonthly feeHardwareEffective at £25,000Cost a month3-year cost
SumUp Payments Plus0.99% (no flat fee stated)£19.00 ex VAT£79 once1.07%£266£9,673
Barclaycard Payments Barclaycard Anywhere (pay as you go)1.60% (no flat fee stated)none ex VAT£29 once1.60%£400£14,429
SumUp Tap to Pay1.69% (no flat fee stated)none ex VATfree1.69%£422£15,210
SumUp Pay as you go1.69% (no flat fee stated)none ex VAT£25 once1.69%£422£15,235
Square Free (Square Reader)1.75%none ex VAT£19 once1.75%£438£15,769
PayPal (Zettle) Zettle Reader 21.75% (no flat fee stated)none ex VAT£29 once1.75%£438£15,779
PayPal (Zettle) Zettle Terminal1.75% (no flat fee stated)none ex VAT£149 once1.77%£438£15,899
Square Free (Square Terminal)1.75%none ex VAT£149 once1.77%£438£15,899
myPOS Non-domestic and commercial cards2.85% + £0.07none VAT basis not statednot stated3.20%£800£28,800

UK providers do not publish on the same basis. Monthly fees and hardware are printed exactly as published, and where the provider states the basis we print it. At 20% VAT an ex-VAT fee is 1.2 times higher on the invoice, so an ex-VAT figure and an inc-VAT figure are not comparable as printed. We do not convert between them.

Scroll sideways on a phone.

How that is worked out

transactions = monthly card sales / average sale processing = monthly card sales x rate + transactions x per-transaction fee monthly cost = software fee + terminal rental + PCI fee + processing (never below the provider's monthly minimum) three-year cost = monthly cost x 36 + hardware bought outright effective rate = three-year cost / (36 x monthly card sales) what you keep = 100% - effective rate

The average sale is an assumption of this site, not a published figure: $25.00 in the United States and £20.00 in the United Kingdom. It decides how heavily a per-transaction fee lands, so the calculator lets you change it. Interchange, chargebacks, refunds, currency conversion, sales tax and VAT are not in any figure on this site, because the pricing page does not price them for a given shop. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.

Where does the answer change?

The order above holds only under these conditions.

Who this is not for

This is not a list of the best card readers and mobile POS. It is every plan we hold that a shop of this size could buy, in price order. We have not used these products and we do not rate them.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.