Online-first processor with in-person hardware · United States

Shopify vs Stripe in United States: the share of card sales each one takes

At $5,000 of card sales a month, Stripe costs 2.93% of everything taken and Shopify costs 3.78% — a difference of $1,525 over three years.

The advertised rates are 2.60% + $0.10 and 2.70% + $0.05, which is the opposite ranking: the monthly fee, the hardware or the per-transaction fee reverses it.

Side by side

Both columns use the cheapest plan each provider publishes for this market, with the fixed costs it publishes alongside the rate.

Cheapest published plan on each side, United States pricing. Sources: Shopify checked 2026-08-25 and Stripe checked 2026-08-25.
 ShopifyStripe
Cheapest published planBasicTerminal (in person)
In person2.60% + $0.102.70% + $0.05
Online or keyed2.90%2.90%
Monthly fee$39.00none
Hardwarenot stated$59 once
Minimum monthly chargenone statednone stated
Contractnot statednot stated
Effective rate at $1,000 a month6.90%3.06%
Effective rate at $2,000 a month4.95%2.98%
Effective rate at $5,000 a month3.78%2.93%
Effective rate at $10,000 a month3.39%2.92%
Effective rate at $25,000 a month3.16%2.91%
Effective rate at $50,000 a month3.08%2.90%
Three-year cost at $5,000 a month$6,804$5,279
Ownernot confirmednot confirmed

How that is worked out

transactions = monthly card sales / average sale processing = monthly card sales x rate + transactions x per-transaction fee monthly cost = software fee + terminal rental + PCI fee + processing (never below the provider's monthly minimum) three-year cost = monthly cost x 36 + hardware bought outright effective rate = three-year cost / (36 x monthly card sales) what you keep = 100% - effective rate

The average sale is an assumption of this site, not a published figure: $25.00 in the United States and £20.00 in the United Kingdom. It decides how heavily a per-transaction fee lands, so the calculator lets you change it. Interchange, chargebacks, refunds, currency conversion, sales tax and VAT are not in any figure on this site, because the pricing page does not price them for a given shop. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.

Where does the answer change?

The ranking above holds only under the conditions listed here.

Who this is not for

This compares published prices and nothing else. It is not a judgment about hardware, apps or support, and neither product has been used by us. If the two figures are close, this page will not decide it for you and should not.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.