Home equity line of credit (HELOC) · United States
Third Federal Home Equity Line of Credit: what $50,000 costs by the day you sell
In our illustration, take $50,000 from a $500,000 home through Third Federal Savings & Loan and sell in year 10: the model produces $35,200 more than you received, an annualized modeled cost of 7.3%. Sold in year 5 the cost is $17,600.
That uses the lowest APR the page publishes, 6.49%, held flat.
What does the provider publish?
Third Federal Savings & Loan publishes the terms below on its own pages; each line links to the page it was read from.
| Term | As published | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest published APR | 6.49% | source |
| Highest published APR | 18% | source |
| Rate type | variable, Prime-based | source |
| Annual fee | $275 | source |
| Closing costs | none, as published — No closing costs | source |
| Early payoff | None (no prepayment penalties) | source |
| Draw period | 10 years | source |
| Repayment period | 20 years | source |
| Full draw required | no | source |
| Maximum combined loan-to-value | 80% | source |
| Minimum amount | $10,000 | source |
| Maximum amount | $300,000 | source |
| States | 29 — AZ, CA, CO, CT, DC, FL, GA, IA, IL, IN, KS, KY, MA, MD, MI, MN, MO, NC, NH, NJ, NY, OH, OR, PA, SC, TN, VA, WA, WI | source |
Notes from the page; text in quotation marks is quoted verbatim. “No closing costs or prepayment penalties. No minimum balance or initial draw required. Funds are available for up to 10 years; 30-year total repayment period. Disclosures page: Annual fee is $275. Minimum loan amount $10,000. Maximum loan amount $300,000. Borrow up to 80% of the equity in your home. Rechecked 2026-09-29: Current Cuyahoga County, Ohio HELOC APR on 2026-09-29 is 6.49%; geography matters.” checked 2026-09-29
Minimum credit score: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Interest-only during draw: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Origination fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Minimum home value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Flat fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
What does it cost by the day you sell?
The table applies the published terms to one scenario, the same one used for every product on this site. No upfront fee is published, so none is added.
| Sold in | Paid along the way | Owed at sale | Upfront fees | Total cost | Annualized |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year 3 | $10,560 | $50,000 | $0 | $10,560 | 7.3% |
| year 5 | $17,600 | $50,000 | $0 | $17,600 | 7.3% |
| year 10 | $35,200 | $50,000 | $0 | $35,200 | 7.3% |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Every rate is the lowest the provider publishes, so where a page says “as low as” the figure is an illustrative starting scenario. An “up to” fee is modeled at its stated maximum; the actual fee may be lower. APR is used as a proxy for the payment rate when no separate note rate is published. Variable rates are held flat. Eligibility, unpublished charges, taxes and insurance are excluded. These figures are neither quotes nor guaranteed lower bounds. Read the method.
Who owns it?
Who owns this company is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- If rates rise, this figure does not hold: it uses 6.49% flat, and the published rate is variable.
- If you draw less than the full amount, the interest falls in proportion; the table assumes the whole line is drawn from day one.
- If the year-10 cost is what matters, U.S. Bank works out at $30,425 on the same scenario — compare the two.
- Do not decide yet if you do not know when you will sell: this product costs $10,560 at a sale in year 3 and $35,200 in year 10, and the right comparison is against your own sale year and home value, not ours.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review. We have not used Third Federal Savings & Loan, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published terms turn into by the day you sell.
Sources
- Third Federal Savings & Loan terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- Third Federal Savings & Loan: annual fee. checked 2026-09-29
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Third Federal Savings & Loan alternatives, by cost at sale
- Every product we hold, and which publish enough to compute
- Put your own home value and sale year in
- The three numbers that decide what home equity costs
- How these figures are produced
- Third Federal Savings & Loan vs U.S. Bank
- Third Federal Savings & Loan vs FourLeaf Federal Credit Union
- Third Federal Savings & Loan vs Alliant Credit Union
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.