Home equity line of credit (HELOC) · United States
Home equity line of credit (HELOC) ranked for a sale in year 10
For a sale in year 10, the 9 products here run from $30,425 to $43,750 on $50,000 from a $500,000 home.
The lowest is U.S. Bank at $30,425 (6.2% a year).
In order
The table applies each provider's published terms to the same home and the same cash, at the lowest published rate.
| Provider | Type | Min credit | Upfront fees | Owed at sale, year 10 | Total cost, year 10 | Annualized |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| U.S. Bank | HELOC | 660 | $0 | $50,000 | $30,425 | 6.2% |
| FourLeaf Federal Credit Union | HELOC | 720 | $0 | $50,000 | $35,000 | 7.2% |
| Third Federal Savings & Loan | HELOC | not stated | $0 | $50,000 | $35,200 | 7.3% |
| Alliant Credit Union | HELOC | not stated | $0 | $50,000 | $35,450 | 7.3% |
| Truist | HELOC | not stated | $0 | $50,000 | $36,750 | 7.6% |
| Regions Bank | HELOC | not stated | $0 | $50,000 | $37,500 | 7.8% |
| Navy Federal Credit Union | HELOC | not stated | $0 | $50,000 | $40,000 | 8.3% |
| Connexus Credit Union | HELOC | not stated | $175 | $50,000 | $40,225 | 8.4% |
| Lower | HELOC | not stated | $0 | $50,000 | $43,750 | 9.1% |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Every rate is the lowest the provider publishes, so where a page says “as low as” the figure is an illustrative starting scenario. An “up to” fee is modeled at its stated maximum; the actual fee may be lower. APR is used as a proxy for the payment rate when no separate note rate is published. Variable rates are held flat. Eligibility, unpublished charges, taxes and insurance are excluded. These figures are neither quotes nor guaranteed lower bounds. Read the method.
Where does the answer change?
The order above holds only under these conditions.
- Do not decide yet if you might sell in year 3 instead without checking the fees: U.S. Bank stays lowest at $9,075, but a rate or a share the provider changes after the page was read is not in the figure.
- 8 rates are published as “as low as”, so each figure is the best case the page allows, not a quote.
Who this is not for
This is not a list of the best products. It is every product we hold that publishes enough to compute, in cost order. We have not used these products and we do not rate them.
Sources
- U.S. Bank terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- FourLeaf Federal Credit Union terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- Third Federal Savings & Loan terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- Alliant Credit Union terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- Truist terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- Regions Bank terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- Navy Federal Credit Union terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- Connexus Credit Union terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- Lower terms page. checked 2026-09-29
Related
- Every product, and which publish enough to compute
- Cost-at-sale calculator
- What home equity costs
- U.S. Bank in full
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.