Home equity line of credit (HELOC) · United States
Truist Home Equity Line of Credit: what $50,000 costs by the day you sell
In our illustration, take $50,000 from a $500,000 home through Truist and sell in year 10: the model produces $36,750 more than you received, an annualized modeled cost of 7.6%. Sold in year 5 the cost is $18,375.
That uses the lowest APR the page publishes, 7.25%, held flat, which is an advertised minimum.
What does the provider publish?
Truist publishes the terms below on its own pages; each line links to the page it was read from.
| Term | As published | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest published APR | 7.25% (as low as) | source |
| Highest published APR | 13.6% | source |
| Rate type | both, Wall Street Journal Prime Rate-based | source |
| Introductory APR | 5.24% for 9 months | source |
| Annual fee | $50 | source |
| Closing costs | none, as published — Bank may advance closing costs if loan <= $500,000. $15 fee for each fixed-rate/fixed-term advance. | source |
| Early payoff | If you close your Truist Home Equity Line of Credit within 36 months from the date of loan origination, you may be required to remit any closing costs | source |
| Draw period | 10 years | source |
| Repayment period | 20 years | source |
| Maximum combined loan-to-value | 90% | source |
| Minimum amount | $15,000 | source |
| Maximum amount | $1,000,000 | source |
| States | 19 — AL, AR, CA, DC, FL, GA, IN, KY, MD, MS, NC, NJ, OH, PA, SC, TN, TX, VA, WV | source |
Notes from the page; text in quotation marks is quoted verbatim. “$50 annual fee in AL, AR, CA, FL, GA, IN, KY, NJ, and OH. 10-year draw period; 20-year repayment period. $15,000 up to $1,000,000. Typically 75 to 90% of home value. Rechecked 2026-09-29: Current standard APR begins at 7.25%; the 5.24% promotional APR lasts nine months and is not modeled.” checked 2026-09-29
Minimum credit score: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Origination fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Early-payoff charge: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Interest-only during draw: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Minimum home value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Flat fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Full draw required: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
What does it cost by the day you sell?
The table applies the published terms to one scenario, the same one used for every product on this site. No upfront fee is published, so none is added.
| Sold in | Paid along the way | Owed at sale | Upfront fees | Total cost | Annualized |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year 3 | $11,025 | $50,000 | $0 | $11,025 | 7.6% |
| year 5 | $18,375 | $50,000 | $0 | $18,375 | 7.6% |
| year 10 | $36,750 | $50,000 | $0 | $36,750 | 7.6% |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Every rate is the lowest the provider publishes, so where a page says “as low as” the figure is an illustrative starting scenario. An “up to” fee is modeled at its stated maximum; the actual fee may be lower. APR is used as a proxy for the payment rate when no separate note rate is published. Variable rates are held flat. Eligibility, unpublished charges, taxes and insurance are excluded. These figures are neither quotes nor guaranteed lower bounds. Read the method.
Who owns it?
Who owns this company is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- If rates rise, this figure does not hold: it uses 7.25% flat.
- If you draw less than the full amount, the interest falls in proportion; the table assumes the whole line is drawn from day one.
- If the year-10 cost is what matters, U.S. Bank works out at $30,425 on the same scenario — compare the two.
- Do not decide yet if you do not know when you will sell: this product costs $11,025 at a sale in year 3 and $36,750 in year 10, and the right comparison is against your own sale year and home value, not ours.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review. We have not used Truist, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published terms turn into by the day you sell.
Sources
- Truist terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Truist alternatives, by cost at sale
- Every product we hold, and which publish enough to compute
- Put your own home value and sale year in
- The three numbers that decide what home equity costs
- How these figures are produced
- Truist vs U.S. Bank
- Truist vs FourLeaf Federal Credit Union
- Truist vs Third Federal Savings & Loan
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.