Home equity line of credit (HELOC) · United States
U.S. Bank Home Equity Line of Credit: what $50,000 costs by the day you sell
In our illustration, take $50,000 from a $500,000 home through U.S. Bank and sell in year 10: the model produces $30,425 more than you received, an annualized modeled cost of 6.2%. Sold in year 5 the cost is $15,175.
That uses the lowest APR the page publishes, 5.95%, held flat, which is an advertised minimum.
What does the provider publish?
U.S. Bank publishes the terms below on its own pages; each line links to the page it was read from.
| Term | As published | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest published APR | 5.95% (as low as) | source |
| Highest published APR | 10.85% | source |
| Rate type | variable, Prime Rate (the index) as published in the Wall Street Journal-based | source |
| Origination fee | 0% of the amount | source |
| Annual fee | $75 starting in year 2 | source |
| Closing costs | none, as published — There are no application fees or closing costs | source |
| Early payoff | An early closure fee of 1% of the original line amount, maximum $500, will apply if the line is paid off and closed within the first 30 months. | source |
| Minimum credit score | 660 | source |
| States | Not all loan programs are available in all states. | source |
Notes from the page; text in quotation marks is quoted verbatim. “An annual fee of $75 will apply after the first year and is waived with an existing U.S. Bank Platinum Checking Package. Interest-only payments for those who qualify. You'll need a FICO score of 660 or higher. Rechecked 2026-09-29: Current national published APR range begins at 5.95% for qualifying $50,000+ lines, <=60% LTV, FICO 730+ and autopay; verify location-specific offer. Rechecked 2026-09-29: annual fee is waived in the first year and modeled beginning in year two.” checked 2026-09-29
Maximum combined loan-to-value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Minimum amount: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Maximum amount: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Draw period: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Repayment period: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Interest-only during draw: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
States: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Minimum home value: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Flat fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
Full draw required: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-29).
What does it cost by the day you sell?
The table applies the published terms to one scenario, the same one used for every product on this site. No upfront fee is published, so none is added.
| Sold in | Paid along the way | Owed at sale | Upfront fees | Total cost | Annualized |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year 3 | $9,075 | $50,000 | $0 | $9,075 | 6.2% |
| year 5 | $15,175 | $50,000 | $0 | $15,175 | 6.2% |
| year 10 | $30,425 | $50,000 | $0 | $30,425 | 6.2% |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Every rate is the lowest the provider publishes, so where a page says “as low as” the figure is an illustrative starting scenario. An “up to” fee is modeled at its stated maximum; the actual fee may be lower. APR is used as a proxy for the payment rate when no separate note rate is published. Variable rates are held flat. Eligibility, unpublished charges, taxes and insurance are excluded. These figures are neither quotes nor guaranteed lower bounds. Read the method.
Who owns it?
Who owns this company is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- If rates rise, this figure does not hold: it uses 5.95% flat, and the published rate is variable.
- If you draw less than the full amount, the interest falls in proportion; the table assumes the whole line is drawn from day one.
- Do not decide yet if you do not know when you will sell: this product costs $9,075 at a sale in year 3 and $30,425 in year 10, and the right comparison is against your own sale year and home value, not ours.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review. We have not used U.S. Bank, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published terms turn into by the day you sell.
Sources
- U.S. Bank terms page. checked 2026-09-29
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- U.S. Bank alternatives, by cost at sale
- Every product we hold, and which publish enough to compute
- Put your own home value and sale year in
- The three numbers that decide what home equity costs
- How these figures are produced
- U.S. Bank vs FourLeaf Federal Credit Union
- U.S. Bank vs Third Federal Savings & Loan
- U.S. Bank vs Alliant Credit Union
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.