Bank or credit union · United Kingdom
first direct vs Halifax: total repayable, not the headline APR
Best case on £10,000 over 36 months, first direct costs £10,911 to repay and Halifax £11,142 — a difference of £232 over the term.
Worst case — the top of each published range — the order holds: first direct £12,913 against Halifax £14,590.
Side by side
Both columns use the published APR range and fee range of each lender, computed on the same loan.
| first direct | Halifax | |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest published APR | 5.90% representative | 7.40% representative |
| Highest published APR | 18.90% | 29.90% |
| Origination fee | not stated | not stated |
| Loan amounts | £1,000 to £50,000 | £1,000 to £50,000 |
| Terms | 12 to 96 months | 12 to 84 months |
| You sign for, worst fee | £10,000 | £10,000 |
| Monthly, best case | £303.07 | £309.50 |
| Total repayable, best case | £10,911 | £11,142 |
| Monthly, worst case | £358.70 | £405.29 |
| Total repayable, worst case | £12,913 | £14,590 |
| Total repayable, best case, 60 months | £11,529 | £11,926 |
| Owner | not confirmed | not confirmed |
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.
Where does the answer change?
The ranking above holds only under the conditions listed here.
- Your credit does not change the ranking here. first direct is cheaper at both ends of the published ranges, so the question is not where you sit in them.
- Do not decide yet until you hold both offers: first direct stays ahead only if the APR it actually offers you is below 7.40% — Halifax's published floor, which is the point where its £11,142 best-case total is matched on this loan. An offer above that number reverses this page.
Who this is not for
This compares published ranges and nothing else. It is not a judgment about service, approval odds or speed, and we have not borrowed from either. If the two totals are close, this page will not decide it for you and should not.
Sources
- first direct rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Halifax rates page. checked 2026-08-25
Related
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.