Direct lender · United States

Earnest student loan refinance rates: the interest at the top of the range

Earnest publishes only the bottom of its range: “from 4.45% APR” on its fixed product. With no top of range on the page, the interest at the ceiling cannot be computed, and this site does not guess it.

Everything below is what the lender does state publicly, with the parts it does not state marked as such.

What does the lender publish?

Earnest publishes the products below on its own rates page; the last column quotes the conditions in the lender's words.

Source: Earnest rates page. checked 2026-08-25
ProductPublished APR rangeTermsMinimum loanOrigination feeInterest at the ceiling, $30,000 over 10 yearsGap to the floorAs published
Fixedfrom 4.45% with autopaynot stated—not stated——Published as a starting rate only, with no top of range, so it is not computed here. "These are our lowest starting rates and contain our 0.25% Auto Pay discount." Floor only; no ceiling published. Read in a browser on 2026-08-25 (the page refuses our checker).
Variablefrom 5.88% with autopaynot stated—not stated——Published as a starting rate only, with no top of range, so it is not computed here. "These are our lowest starting rates and contain our 0.25% Auto Pay discount." Floor only; no ceiling published. Read in a browser on 2026-08-25 (the page refuses our checker). "Variable rates not available in AK, IL, MN, MS, NH, OH, TN, and TX."

Lenders do not publish on the same basis. Most print the range with a 0.25 point autopay discount already taken off; some print it before the discount; some do not say. We print the figure as published and label the basis where the lender states it. We do not add or remove the discount, because a figure we adjusted could not be checked against the lender's page.

Scroll sideways on a phone.

Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Top of the published range: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Repayment terms offered: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Minimum loan: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Maximum loan: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Origination fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Variable-rate cap: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Is there an origination fee?

Earnest says nothing about an origination fee on its rates page. checked 2026-08-25

An origination fee that the lender states is added to the interest figure once. Late fees, returned-payment fees and anything charged only in some states are not, because the rates page does not price them for a given borrower.

Who makes the loan?

Who owns or funds this lender is not stated on its own site in a form we could confirm from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.

Where this leaves you

Who this page is not for

This is not a review. We have not borrowed from Earnest, we hold no opinion on its service or its underwriting, and nothing here is a recommendation or a rate you will be offered. It answers one question: what the published range turns into in dollars over the life of the loan.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from the sources' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.