Direct lender · United States

ELFI student loan refinance rates: the interest at the top of the range

ELFI publishes only the bottom of its range: “from 4.29% APR” on its fixed product. With no top of range on the page, the interest at the ceiling cannot be computed, and this site does not guess it.

Everything below is what the lender does state publicly, with the parts it does not state marked as such.

What does the lender publish?

ELFI publishes the products below on its own rates page; the last column quotes the conditions in the lender's words.

Source: ELFI rates page. checked 2026-08-25
ProductPublished APR rangeTermsMinimum loanOrigination feeInterest at the ceiling, $30,000 over 10 yearsGap to the floorAs published
Fixedfrom 4.29% autopay basis not statednot stated$10,000none——Published as a starting rate only, with no top of range, so it is not computed here. Fixed "4.29% APR" shown as a floor only. "5-20 Years" (specific terms not listed). "$10,000" minimum. "ELFI does not charge any application fees, origination fees, or prepayment penalties". "Must have received a bachelor's degree from a Title IV u.s. domiciled non-profit college or university". "ELFI is a division of SouthEast Bank". https://www.elfi.com/rates/ returned 404.
Variablefrom 4.74% autopay basis not statednot stated$10,000none——Published as a starting rate only, with no top of range, so it is not computed here. Variable "4.74% APR" shown as a floor only.

Lenders do not publish on the same basis. Most print the range with a 0.25 point autopay discount already taken off; some print it before the discount; some do not say. We print the figure as published and label the basis where the lender states it. We do not add or remove the discount, because a figure we adjusted could not be checked against the lender's page.

Scroll sideways on a phone.

Top of the published range: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Whether the range includes the autopay discount: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Autopay discount: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Repayment terms offered: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Maximum loan: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Variable-rate cap: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Is there an origination fee?

ELFI states its origination fee, or states that there is none. checked 2026-08-25

An origination fee that the lender states is added to the interest figure once. Late fees, returned-payment fees and anything charged only in some states are not, because the rates page does not price them for a given borrower.

Who makes the loan?

Loans are made or funded by SouthEast Bank. Source. checked 2026-08-25

Where this leaves you

Who this page is not for

This is not a review. We have not borrowed from ELFI, we hold no opinion on its service or its underwriting, and nothing here is a recommendation or a rate you will be offered. It answers one question: what the published range turns into in dollars over the life of the loan.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from the sources' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.