Direct lender · United States

Brazos vs College Ave: the interest at the ceiling, not the advertised rate

At the top of each published range, a $30,000 loan over 10 years costs $9,949 in interest with Brazos and $25,874 with the other — a difference of $15,925 over the life of the loan.

The advertised floors are 3.99% and 6.99%, the same order as the ceilings.

Side by side

Both columns use the fixed-rate product where the lender publishes a full range for it, on the basis the lender advertises.

The product each lender publishes a full range for, United States rates, on a $30,000 balance. Sources: Brazos checked 2026-08-25 and College Ave checked 2026-08-25.
 BrazosCollege Ave
Product comparedFixedFixed
Published APR range3.99% to 5.99% with autopay6.99% to 13.99% with autopay
Terms listednot statednot stated
Minimum loannot statednot stated
Origination feenonenot stated
Interest at the ceiling, 5 years$4,791$11,874
Interest at the ceiling, 7 years$6,801$17,211
Interest at the ceiling, 10 years$9,949$25,874
Interest at the ceiling, 15 years$15,539$41,878
Interest at the ceiling, 20 years$21,542$59,481
Interest at the floor, 10 years$6,431$11,781
Gap between floor and ceiling$3,518$14,094
Monthly payment at the ceiling, 10 years$333$466
Loan made bynot confirmednot confirmed

Lenders do not publish on the same basis. Most print the range with a 0.25 point autopay discount already taken off; some print it before the discount; some do not say. We print the figure as published and label the basis where the lender states it. We do not add or remove the discount, because a figure we adjusted could not be checked against the lender's page.

How that is worked out

monthly rate = APR / 1200 payments = years x 12 monthly payment = balance x monthly rate / (1 - (1 + monthly rate) ^ -payments) interest over life = monthly payment x payments - balance + origination fee at the ceiling = the same, with the top of the published range at the floor = the same, with the bottom of the published range the gap = interest at the ceiling - interest at the floor

Nothing else is added. The rate you are offered, any lender-specific discount you do or do not qualify for, and variable-rate movements are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on you and on the future. Where a lender states an origination fee it is added once. The published range is used exactly as printed: where the lender says the range already includes its autopay discount, we say so and do not add it back. The full method is at Method.

Where does the answer change?

The order above holds only under the conditions listed here.

Who this is not for

This compares published rate ranges and nothing else. It is not a judgment about service, hardship options or underwriting, and we have not borrowed from either lender. If the two ceilings are close, this page will not decide it for you and should not.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from the sources' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.