Countertop POS for retail · United Kingdom
Dojo card processing fees: what a shop actually pays
On its cheapest published plan, Dojo charges 1.20% (no flat fee stated) on a card taken in person. For a shop taking £5,000 a month on cards, that plan costs £60 a month — 1.20% of everything it takes once the monthly fee and the hardware are counted across three years. The shop keeps 98.80%.
The advertised percentage is close to what a shop of this size pays, because this plan carries no monthly fee.
What does the provider publish?
Dojo publishes the plans below on its own pricing page; the last column quotes the conditions in the provider's words.
| Plan | Monthly fee | Hardware | In person | Online or keyed | Effective at 5,000 a month | As published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essential with Tap to Pay on iPhone | none VAT basis not stated | free | 1.20% (no flat fee stated) | not published | 1.20% | Tap to Pay on iPhone, no hardware cost and no contract. All-in blended rate 1.2% for businesses under GBP 100,000 annual turnover. Dojo publishes 1.2% for businesses under GBP 100,000 of annual turnover. |
| Essential with Dojo Go Max | none VAT basis not stated | £149 once | 1.20% (no flat fee stated) | not published | 1.28% | Dojo Go Max GBP 149 upfront on a launch offer, normally GBP 229, or GBP 25 a month. Dojo publishes 1.2% for businesses under GBP 100,000 of annual turnover. |
| Plus | £11.99 VAT basis not stated | £179 once | 1.20% (no flat fee stated) | not published | 1.54% | GBP 11.99/month per location for new customers, normally GBP 25. Dojo Wired GBP 179 upfront or GBP 15 a month. Dojo publishes 1.2% for businesses under GBP 100,000 of annual turnover. |
| Custom rate (over GBP 100k turnover) | not published VAT basis not stated | not stated | not published | not published | — | A custom rate with a 12-month fixed plan, or a 30-day rolling plan. |
UK providers do not publish on the same basis. Monthly fees and hardware are printed exactly as published, and where the provider states the basis we print it. At 20% VAT an ex-VAT fee is 1.2 times higher on the invoice, so an ex-VAT figure and an inc-VAT figure are not comparable as printed. We do not convert between them.
Scroll sideways on a phone.
Per-transaction fee: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
Online or keyed rate: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
VAT basis: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
Chargeback fee: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
What does it cost at the size of shop you actually are?
The same plan is a different price depending on how much goes through the card machine, because the fixed part does not move.
| Plan | £1,000 | £2,000 | £5,000 | £10,000 | £25,000 | £50,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essential with Tap to Pay on iPhone | 1.20% | 1.20% | 1.20% | — | — | — |
| Essential with Dojo Go Max | 1.61% | 1.41% | 1.28% | — | — | — |
| Plus | 2.90% | 2.05% | 1.54% | — | — | — |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
The average sale is an assumption of this site, not a published figure: $25.00 in the United States and £20.00 in the United Kingdom. It decides how heavily a per-transaction fee lands, so the calculator lets you change it. Interchange, chargebacks, refunds, currency conversion, sales tax and VAT are not in any figure on this site, because the pricing page does not price them for a given shop. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.
What is fixed and what moves with sales?
Dojo publishes a percentage but no per-transaction fee. On Plus the fixed part is £11.99 a month before a single card is tapped, which is 0.24% of card sales at £5,000 a month and 0.02% at £50,000. checked 2026-08-25
A percentage on its own says nothing about what a small shop pays. The monthly fee, the terminal and the per-transaction fee are fixed amounts, so they land hardest on the shops with the least card volume — which is the opposite of how the headline rate reads.
Who owns it?
Who owns this company is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- No per-transaction fee is stated on the page. We compute as though there is none. If the provider quotes one later, every figure here rises, and a small average sale is where it would show first.
- If the effective rate is what matters, Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) works out at 1.07% on the same basis — £234 less across three years at £5,000 a month — compare the two.
- Do not decide yet. The figures are floors from the pricing page; chargebacks, refunds and foreign cards are not in them — what the headline rate leaves out.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review. We have not used Dojo, we hold no opinion on its hardware or its support, and nothing here is a recommendation. It answers one question: what the published price turns into as a share of card sales.
Sources
- Dojo pricing page — every figure on this page. checked 2026-08-25
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Dojo alternatives, by effective rate
- Every provider we hold, and which publish a rate
- Work out your own effective rate
- The three numbers behind a card rate: the fixed fee, the flat fee and the floor
- How these figures are produced
- Dojo vs Cardnet (Lloyds Bank)
- Dojo vs Elavon
- Dojo vs Epos Now
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.