Countertop POS for retail · United Kingdom
Handepay card processing fees: what a shop actually pays
This provider does not publish a rate. Its own pages ask you to call or fill in a form, so nothing on this page can be computed from public information.
Everything below is what the provider does state publicly, with the parts it does not state marked as such.
What does the provider publish?
This provider does not publish a rate. Its own pages ask you to call or fill in a form, so nothing on this page can be computed from public information.
| Plan | Monthly fee | Hardware | In person | Online or keyed | Effective at 5,000 a month | As published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Card machine rental | not published VAT basis not stated | not stated | not published | not published | — | You will pay a rental fee for your card machine and then a small percentage of each transaction value. No minimum monthly service charge, authorisation fees or PCI fees. |
UK providers do not publish on the same basis. Monthly fees and hardware are printed exactly as published, and where the provider states the basis we print it. At 20% VAT an ex-VAT fee is 1.2 times higher on the invoice, so an ex-VAT figure and an inc-VAT figure are not comparable as printed. We do not convert between them.
Scroll sideways on a phone.
Monthly fee: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
Card-present rate: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
Per-transaction fee: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
Online or keyed rate: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
Online per-transaction fee: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
Hardware price: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
Contract length: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
VAT basis: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
What is fixed and what moves with sales?
Handepay publishes no card rate at all and quotes it per business. checked 2026-08-25
A percentage on its own says nothing about what a small shop pays. The monthly fee, the terminal and the per-transaction fee are fixed amounts, so they land hardest on the shops with the least card volume — which is the opposite of how the headline rate reads.
Who owns it?
Who owns this company is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- You cannot budget from this page. Ask for the rate in writing, for debit and credit separately, plus the monthly fee, the terminal cost, the minimum monthly charge and the length of the contract, before anyone books a call.
- Ask what the rate is on business and foreign cards. It is the most common reason a statement comes back higher than the quote.
- Providers that do publish a rate are listed in the full list.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review. We have not used Handepay, we hold no opinion on its hardware or its support, and nothing here is a recommendation. It answers one question: what the published price turns into as a share of card sales.
Sources
- Handepay pricing page — every figure on this page. checked 2026-08-25
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Every provider we hold, and which publish a rate
- Work out your own effective rate
- The three numbers behind a card rate: the fixed fee, the flat fee and the floor
- How these figures are produced
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.