Card reader / mobile POS · United Kingdom
myPOS card processing fees: what a shop actually pays
On its cheapest published plan, myPOS charges 1.10% + £0.07 on a card taken in person. For a shop taking £5,000 a month on cards, that plan costs £72 a month — 1.45% of everything it takes once the monthly fee and the hardware are counted across three years. The shop keeps 98.55%.
That is 0.35 percentage points above the advertised 1.10%. The difference is the £0.07 charged on every sale.
What does the provider publish?
myPOS publishes the plans below on its own pricing page; the last column quotes the conditions in the provider's words.
| Plan | Monthly fee | Hardware | In person | Online or keyed | Effective at 5,000 a month | As published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pay as you go (under GBP 10k a month) | none VAT basis not stated | not stated | 1.10% + £0.07 | 1.30% | 1.45% | No fixed monthly costs. Domestic consumer cards 1.10% + GBP 0.07 in person, 1.30% + GBP 0.15 online. Payout in seconds. myPOS publishes this rate for turnover under GBP 10,000 a month. |
| Non-domestic and commercial cards | none VAT basis not stated | not stated | 2.85% + £0.07 | 2.90% | 3.20% | EEA consumer 2.20% + GBP 0.07; American Express 2.45% + GBP 0.07; all other consumer and commercial cards 2.85% + GBP 0.07. |
UK providers do not publish on the same basis. Monthly fees and hardware are printed exactly as published, and where the provider states the basis we print it. At 20% VAT an ex-VAT fee is 1.2 times higher on the invoice, so an ex-VAT figure and an inc-VAT figure are not comparable as printed. We do not convert between them.
Scroll sideways on a phone.
Hardware price: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
VAT basis: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
Chargeback fee: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
What does it cost at the size of shop you actually are?
The same plan is a different price depending on how much goes through the card machine, because the fixed part does not move.
| Plan | £1,000 | £2,000 | £5,000 | £10,000 | £25,000 | £50,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pay as you go (under GBP 10k a month) | 1.45% | 1.45% | 1.45% | 1.45% | — | — |
| Non-domestic and commercial cards | 3.20% | 3.20% | 3.20% | 3.20% | 3.20% | 3.20% |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
The average sale is an assumption of this site, not a published figure: $25.00 in the United States and £20.00 in the United Kingdom. It decides how heavily a per-transaction fee lands, so the calculator lets you change it. Interchange, chargebacks, refunds, currency conversion, sales tax and VAT are not in any figure on this site, because the pricing page does not price them for a given shop. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.
What is fixed and what moves with sales?
myPOS publishes both the percentage and the per-transaction fee. checked 2026-08-25
A percentage on its own says nothing about what a small shop pays. The monthly fee, the terminal and the per-transaction fee are fixed amounts, so they land hardest on the shops with the least card volume — which is the opposite of how the headline rate reads.
Who owns it?
Who owns this company is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- If the effective rate is what matters, SumUp works out at 1.41% on the same basis — £65 less across three years at £5,000 a month — compare the two.
- Do not decide yet. The figures are floors from the pricing page; chargebacks, refunds and foreign cards are not in them — what the headline rate leaves out.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review. We have not used myPOS, we hold no opinion on its hardware or its support, and nothing here is a recommendation. It answers one question: what the published price turns into as a share of card sales.
Sources
- myPOS pricing page — every figure on this page. checked 2026-08-25
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- myPOS alternatives, by effective rate
- Every provider we hold, and which publish a rate
- Work out your own effective rate
- The three numbers behind a card rate: the fixed fee, the flat fee and the floor
- How these figures are produced
- myPOS vs SumUp
- myPOS vs Barclaycard Payments
- myPOS vs Square
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.