Restaurant POS · United States

Shift4 (SkyTab) card processing fees: what a shop actually pays

This provider publishes prices, but not ones a total can be built from. Either the rate is quoted as a starting figure, or it is interchange plus a markup, where the largest part of the cost is set by the card networks and is not published anywhere on the page.

Everything below is what the provider does state publicly, with the parts it does not state marked as such.

What does the provider publish?

Shift4 (SkyTab) publishes the plans below on its own pricing page; the last column quotes the conditions in the provider's words.

Source: Shift4 (SkyTab) pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
PlanMonthly feeHardwareIn personOnline or keyedEffective at 5,000 a monthAs published
SkyTab POS$29.99not statednot publishednot published—$29.99 per month for the base POS. Advertised pricing is only for new customers. Processing rates are not published.

Scroll sideways on a phone.

Card-present rate: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).

Per-transaction fee: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).

Online or keyed rate: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).

Online per-transaction fee: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).

Hardware price: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).

Contract length: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).

What is fixed and what moves with sales?

Shift4 (SkyTab) publishes no card rate at all and quotes it per business. On SkyTab POS the fixed part is $29.99 a month before a single card is tapped, which is 0.60% of card sales at $5,000 a month and 0.06% at $50,000. checked 2026-08-25

A percentage on its own says nothing about what a small shop pays. The monthly fee, the terminal and the per-transaction fee are fixed amounts, so they land hardest on the shops with the least card volume — which is the opposite of how the headline rate reads.

Who owns it?

Who owns this company is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.

Where this leaves you

Who this page is not for

This is not a review. We have not used Shift4 (SkyTab), we hold no opinion on its hardware or its support, and nothing here is a recommendation. It answers one question: what the published price turns into as a share of card sales.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.