Online-first processor with in-person hardware · United Kingdom and United States

Stripe card processing fees: what a shop actually pays

On its cheapest published plan, Stripe charges 2.70% + $0.05 on a card taken in person. For a shop taking $5,000 a month on cards, that plan costs $145 a month — 2.93% of everything it takes once the monthly fee and the hardware are counted across three years. The shop keeps 97.07%.

That is 0.23 percentage points above the advertised 2.70%. The difference is the $59 hardware, spread over 36 months and the $0.05 charged on every sale.

What does the provider publish?

Stripe publishes the plans below on its own pricing page; the last column quotes the conditions in the provider's words.

Source: Stripe pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
PlanMonthly feeHardwareIn personOnline or keyedEffective at 5,000 a monthAs published
Terminal (in person)none$59 once2.70% + $0.052.90%2.93%2.7% + 5c per successful card transaction. Reader M2 $59; Reader S700 $299.
Standard (online only)nonenot statednot published2.90%—2.9% + $0.30 for domestic cards; no setup or monthly fees. No card-present rate on this plan.
Terminal (WisePad 3)none ex VAT£49 once1.40% + £0.101.50%1.93%1.4% + 10p per successful charge for EEA cards. WisePad 3 GBP 49 excluding VAT.
Terminal (Reader S700)none ex VAT£229 once1.40% + £0.101.50%2.03%Reader S700 GBP 229 excluding VAT. Non-EEA cards 2.9% + 10p.

UK providers do not publish on the same basis. Monthly fees and hardware are printed exactly as published, and where the provider states the basis we print it. At 20% VAT an ex-VAT fee is 1.2 times higher on the invoice, so an ex-VAT figure and an inc-VAT figure are not comparable as printed. We do not convert between them.

Scroll sideways on a phone.

Time to payout: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).

What does it cost at the size of shop you actually are?

The same plan is a different price depending on how much goes through the card machine, because the fixed part does not move.

The share of card sales that leaves the business, by how much the shop takes on cards in a month, over three years. Monthly fees and hardware do not shrink when sales do, so the same plan costs a different share at every line. A dash means the provider publishes that plan only for a stated range of turnover that this column falls outside. checked 2026-08-25
Plan$1,000$2,000$5,000$10,000$25,000$50,000
Terminal (in person)3.06%2.98%2.93%2.92%2.91%2.90%

Scroll sideways on a phone.

The same provider in United Kingdom

Stripe publishes different figures for this market, in GBP. We do not convert between currencies, so the two are printed side by side and never averaged. Its cheapest published plan there is Terminal (WisePad 3) at 1.40% + £0.10, which comes to 1.93% of card sales at £5,000 a month.

The share of card sales that leaves the business, by how much the shop takes on cards in a month, over three years. Monthly fees and hardware do not shrink when sales do, so the same plan costs a different share at every line. A dash means the provider publishes that plan only for a stated range of turnover that this column falls outside. checked 2026-08-25
Plan£1,000£2,000£5,000£10,000£25,000£50,000
Terminal (WisePad 3)2.04%1.97%1.93%1.91%1.91%1.90%
Terminal (Reader S700)2.54%2.22%2.03%1.96%1.93%1.91%

Scroll sideways on a phone.

How that is worked out

transactions = monthly card sales / average sale processing = monthly card sales x rate + transactions x per-transaction fee monthly cost = software fee + terminal rental + PCI fee + processing (never below the provider's monthly minimum) three-year cost = monthly cost x 36 + hardware bought outright effective rate = three-year cost / (36 x monthly card sales) what you keep = 100% - effective rate

The average sale is an assumption of this site, not a published figure: $25.00 in the United States and £20.00 in the United Kingdom. It decides how heavily a per-transaction fee lands, so the calculator lets you change it. Interchange, chargebacks, refunds, currency conversion, sales tax and VAT are not in any figure on this site, because the pricing page does not price them for a given shop. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.

What is fixed and what moves with sales?

Stripe publishes both the percentage and the per-transaction fee. checked 2026-08-25

A percentage on its own says nothing about what a small shop pays. The monthly fee, the terminal and the per-transaction fee are fixed amounts, so they land hardest on the shops with the least card volume — which is the opposite of how the headline rate reads.

Who owns it?

Who owns this company is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.

Where this leaves you

Who this page is not for

This is not a review. We have not used Stripe, we hold no opinion on its hardware or its support, and nothing here is a recommendation. It answers one question: what the published price turns into as a share of card sales.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.