Countertop POS for retail · United Kingdom

Tyl by NatWest card processing fees: what a shop actually pays

This provider publishes prices, but not ones a total can be built from. Either the rate is quoted as a starting figure, or it is interchange plus a markup, where the largest part of the cost is set by the card networks and is not published anywhere on the page.

Everything below is what the provider does state publicly, with the parts it does not state marked as such.

What does the provider publish?

Tyl by NatWest publishes the plans below on its own pricing page; the last column quotes the conditions in the provider's words.

Source: Tyl by NatWest pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
PlanMonthly feeHardwareIn personOnline or keyedEffective at 5,000 a monthAs published
Tap to Paynone ex VATfree1.39% + £0.051.39%—Tap to Pay GBP 0.00, transaction fees only. Personal cards 1.39% + 5p; other cards 1.99% + 5p, up to GBP 50k a year. Tyl publishes these rates up to GBP 50,000 of annual card volume.
PAX A80 countertop£13.99 ex VATnot stated1.39% + £0.051.39%—PAX A80 GBP 13.99 + VAT per month. No minimum monthly service charge; no fees for card-not-present, cancellations or refunds. Tyl publishes these rates up to GBP 50,000 of annual card volume.
PAX A920 Pro portable£19.99 ex VATnot stated1.39% + £0.051.39%—PAX A920 Pro GBP 19.99 + VAT per month. A flat 5p per transaction authorisation fee. Tyl publishes these rates up to GBP 50,000 of annual card volume.

UK providers do not publish on the same basis. Monthly fees and hardware are printed exactly as published, and where the provider states the basis we print it. At 20% VAT an ex-VAT fee is 1.2 times higher on the invoice, so an ex-VAT figure and an inc-VAT figure are not comparable as printed. We do not convert between them.

Scroll sideways on a phone.

Contract length: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).

Chargeback fee: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).

Time to payout: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).

What does it cost at the size of shop you actually are?

The same plan is a different price depending on how much goes through the card machine, because the fixed part does not move.

The share of card sales that leaves the business, by how much the shop takes on cards in a month, over three years. Monthly fees and hardware do not shrink when sales do, so the same plan costs a different share at every line. A dash means the provider publishes that plan only for a stated range of turnover that this column falls outside. checked 2026-08-25
Plan£1,000£2,000£5,000£10,000£25,000£50,000
Tap to Pay1.64%1.64%————
PAX A80 countertop3.04%2.34%————
PAX A920 Pro portable3.64%2.64%————

Scroll sideways on a phone.

How that is worked out

transactions = monthly card sales / average sale processing = monthly card sales x rate + transactions x per-transaction fee monthly cost = software fee + terminal rental + PCI fee + processing (never below the provider's monthly minimum) three-year cost = monthly cost x 36 + hardware bought outright effective rate = three-year cost / (36 x monthly card sales) what you keep = 100% - effective rate

The average sale is an assumption of this site, not a published figure: $25.00 in the United States and £20.00 in the United Kingdom. It decides how heavily a per-transaction fee lands, so the calculator lets you change it. Interchange, chargebacks, refunds, currency conversion, sales tax and VAT are not in any figure on this site, because the pricing page does not price them for a given shop. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.

What is fixed and what moves with sales?

Tyl by NatWest publishes both the percentage and the per-transaction fee. On PAX A80 countertop the fixed part is £13.99 a month before a single card is tapped, which is 0.28% of card sales at £5,000 a month and 0.03% at £50,000. checked 2026-08-25

A percentage on its own says nothing about what a small shop pays. The monthly fee, the terminal and the per-transaction fee are fixed amounts, so they land hardest on the shops with the least card volume — which is the opposite of how the headline rate reads.

Who owns it?

Owned by NatWest. Source. checked 2026-08-25

Where this leaves you

Who this page is not for

This is not a review. We have not used Tyl by NatWest, we hold no opinion on its hardware or its support, and nothing here is a recommendation. It answers one question: what the published price turns into as a share of card sales.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.