Countertop POS for retail · United Kingdom
Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) vs Elavon in United Kingdom: the share of card sales each one takes
At £5,000 of card sales a month, Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) costs 1.07% of everything taken and Elavon costs 1.29% — a difference of £396 over three years.
The advertised rates are 0.50% + £0.03 and 0.99% (no flat fee stated), the same order as the effective figures.
Side by side
Both columns use the cheapest plan each provider publishes for this market, with the fixed costs it publishes alongside the rate.
| Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) | Elavon | |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest published plan | Clover Flex | Business Booster - Desk |
| In person | 0.50% + £0.03 | 0.99% (no flat fee stated) |
| Online or keyed | not published | not published |
| Monthly fee | £21.00 ex VAT | £15.00 VAT basis not stated |
| Hardware | not stated | not stated |
| Minimum monthly charge | £10.00 | none stated |
| Contract | not stated | 12 months |
| Effective rate at £1,000 a month | 2.75% | — |
| Effective rate at £2,000 a month | 1.70% | — |
| Effective rate at £5,000 a month | 1.07% | 1.29% |
| Effective rate at £10,000 a month | 0.86% | 1.14% |
| Effective rate at £25,000 a month | 0.73% | — |
| Effective rate at £50,000 a month | 0.69% | — |
| Three-year cost at £5,000 a month | £1,926 | £2,322 |
| Owner | Lloyds Bank | not confirmed |
UK providers do not publish on the same basis. Monthly fees and hardware are printed exactly as published, and where the provider states the basis we print it. At 20% VAT an ex-VAT fee is 1.2 times higher on the invoice, so an ex-VAT figure and an inc-VAT figure are not comparable as printed. We do not convert between them.
How that is worked out
The average sale is an assumption of this site, not a published figure: $25.00 in the United States and £20.00 in the United Kingdom. It decides how heavily a per-transaction fee lands, so the calculator lets you change it. Interchange, chargebacks, refunds, currency conversion, sales tax and VAT are not in any figure on this site, because the pricing page does not price them for a given shop. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.
Where does the answer change?
The ranking above holds only under the conditions listed here.
- Size does not change the ranking here. Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) is cheaper as a share of card sales at every volume we compute, so the question is not how busy you are. The two would meet at about £1,765 of card sales a month, which is outside the range either provider publishes for.
- If takings are seasonal, Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) carries the larger fixed monthly charge — £21.00 against £15.00 — and that is charged in the quiet months too.
- Do not decide yet if £396 over three years is less than what switching would cost you — neither provider publishes what leaving involves, and chargebacks, refunds and foreign-card surcharges are in neither figure and could change the order.
Who this is not for
This compares published prices and nothing else. It is not a judgment about hardware, apps or support, and neither product has been used by us. If the two figures are close, this page will not decide it for you and should not.
Sources
- Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
- Elavon pricing page. checked 2026-08-25
Related
- Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) fees in full
- Elavon fees in full
- Other providers near Cardnet (Lloyds Bank)
- Put your own takings in
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.