Countertop POS for retail · United Kingdom

Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) vs Epos Now in United Kingdom: the share of card sales each one takes

At £5,000 of card sales a month, Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) costs 1.07% of everything taken and Epos Now costs 1.70% — a difference of £1,134 over three years.

The advertised rates are 0.50% + £0.03 and 1.70% (no flat fee stated), the same order as the effective figures.

Side by side

Both columns use the cheapest plan each provider publishes for this market, with the fixed costs it publishes alongside the rate.

Cheapest published plan on each side, United Kingdom pricing. Sources: Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) checked 2026-08-25 and Epos Now checked 2026-08-25.
 Cardnet (Lloyds Bank)Epos Now
Cheapest published planClover FlexEpos Now Payments
In person0.50% + £0.031.70% (no flat fee stated)
Online or keyednot publishednot published
Monthly fee£21.00 ex VATnone
Hardwarenot statednot stated
Minimum monthly charge£10.00none stated
Contractnot statednot stated
Effective rate at £1,000 a month2.75%1.70%
Effective rate at £2,000 a month1.70%1.70%
Effective rate at £5,000 a month1.07%1.70%
Effective rate at £10,000 a month0.86%1.70%
Effective rate at £25,000 a month0.73%1.70%
Effective rate at £50,000 a month0.69%1.70%
Three-year cost at £5,000 a month£1,926£3,060
OwnerLloyds Banknot confirmed

UK providers do not publish on the same basis. Monthly fees and hardware are printed exactly as published, and where the provider states the basis we print it. At 20% VAT an ex-VAT fee is 1.2 times higher on the invoice, so an ex-VAT figure and an inc-VAT figure are not comparable as printed. We do not convert between them.

How that is worked out

transactions = monthly card sales / average sale processing = monthly card sales x rate + transactions x per-transaction fee monthly cost = software fee + terminal rental + PCI fee + processing (never below the provider's monthly minimum) three-year cost = monthly cost x 36 + hardware bought outright effective rate = three-year cost / (36 x monthly card sales) what you keep = 100% - effective rate

The average sale is an assumption of this site, not a published figure: $25.00 in the United States and £20.00 in the United Kingdom. It decides how heavily a per-transaction fee lands, so the calculator lets you change it. Interchange, chargebacks, refunds, currency conversion, sales tax and VAT are not in any figure on this site, because the pricing page does not price them for a given shop. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.

Where does the answer change?

The ranking above holds only under the conditions listed here.

Who this is not for

This compares published prices and nothing else. It is not a judgment about hardware, apps or support, and neither product has been used by us. If the two figures are close, this page will not decide it for you and should not.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.