Lending marketplace · United States
Prosper alternatives, ranked by total repayable
3 of the 4 nearest lending marketplaces we hold work out cheaper than Prosper best case, which costs $11,446 to repay on $10,000 over 36 months.
The lowest is Happen at $10,945, a difference of $501 over the term.
The group, by total repayable
Every lender of the same type and market that publishes a computable range covering this loan, in order of the best-case total.
| Lender | Lowest APR | Highest APR | Fee | Total repayable, best | Total repayable, worst |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prosper (this page) | 8.99% | 35.99% | not stated | $11,446 | $16,487 |
| Happen | 5.96% | 35.96% | 0% to 8% | $10,945 | $16,481 |
| Upstart | 6.30% | 35.99% | not stated | $11,001 | $16,487 |
| Happy Money | 8.95% with autopay | not published | not stated | $11,440 | — |
| Universal Credit | 11.69% with autopay | 35.99% | 5.25% to 9.99% | $11,904 | $16,487 |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.
When to stay where you are
Conditions under which the table above should not move you.
- A lower floor is not a lower offer. The floor goes to the best credit profiles; the rate you are offered can sit anywhere in the range.
- Watch the width of the range. Happen ($5,536 wide), Upstart ($5,486 wide), Universal Credit ($4,583 wide) can cost far more at the top than the floor suggests.
- 2 of these charge an origination fee, already inside the APR and shown as the larger amount you sign for on each lender's page.
- Do not decide yet if you are borrowing a different amount: put your amount and term in rather than reading the $10,000 column, because minimum and maximum loan sizes drop lenders out.
Who this is not for
This is a ranking of published ranges, not a shortlist of better lenders. We have not borrowed from any of them. If your reason for choosing is speed, service or approval odds, the order on this page tells you nothing about that.
Sources
- Prosper rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Happen rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Upstart rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Happy Money rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Universal Credit rates page. checked 2026-08-25
Related
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.