Lending marketplace · United States
Universal Credit personal loan: what you repay on $10,000
At its lowest published APR of 11.69%, Universal Credit costs $330.66 a month on $10,000 over 36 months, or $11,904 in total — $1,904 of interest on the $10,000 received, having signed for $10,554 after the lowest fee.
At the top of its published range, 35.99% APR with the highest fee of 9.99%, the same loan is $457.98 a month and $16,487 in total, having signed for $11,110 so that $10,000 arrives. The published range is worth $4,583 on this loan.
What does the lender publish?
Universal Credit publishes the terms below on its own site; the wording of its rate disclosure is quoted further down.
| Term | As published |
|---|---|
| Lowest published APR | 11.69% with autopay |
| Highest published APR | 35.99% |
| Origination or arrangement fee | 5.25% to 9.99% |
| Loan amounts | up to $50,000 |
| Terms | 36 to 60 months |
| Early-repayment charge | none, as published |
| Late fee | not stated |
| Rate check without a hard credit search | not stated |
Autopay discount: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Minimum loan: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Late fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Minimum credit score: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Whether the rate check is a soft search: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Time to funds: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
States not served: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
What does it come to at other amounts and terms?
Each row re-computes the loan at the lowest and highest published APR, with the lowest and highest published fee.
| Borrow | Over | You sign for (worst fee) | Monthly, best case | Total repayable, best case | Monthly, worst case | Total repayable, worst case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $5,000 | 36 months | $5,555 | $165.33 | $5,952 | $228.99 | $8,244 |
| $5,000 | 60 months | $5,555 | $110.44 | $6,626 | $180.63 | $10,838 |
| $10,000 | 36 months | $11,110 | $330.66 | $11,904 | $457.98 | $16,487 |
| $10,000 | 60 months | $11,110 | $220.88 | $13,253 | $361.27 | $21,676 |
| $20,000 | 36 months | $22,220 | $661.33 | $23,808 | $915.96 | $32,975 |
| $20,000 | 60 months | $22,220 | $441.76 | $26,506 | $722.53 | $43,352 |
| $35,000 | 36 months | $38,885 | $1,157.33 | $41,664 | $1,602.93 | $57,706 |
| $35,000 | 60 months | $38,885 | $773.08 | $46,385 | $1,264.43 | $75,866 |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.
Is there an origination fee?
Universal Credit publishes an origination fee of 5.25% to 9.99%, deducted from the loan before it reaches you. At the top of that range, to have $10,000 actually arrive you would need to borrow $11,110, and interest runs on the whole of it. checked 2026-08-25
The APR published by the lender already includes the origination fee, which is why the payment here is worked out on the amount you receive at the published APR, not on the larger amount you sign for at a lower interest rate. Both routes give the same payment; the lender's own example, where it publishes one, is the check.
What does the rate disclosure say?
Personal loans made through Universal Credit feature Annual Percentage Rates (APRs) of 11.69%-35.99% and a 5.25%-9.99% origination fee, which is deducted from the loan proceeds. Lowest rates require Autopay and paying off a portion of existing debt directly. Repayment terms from 36 to 60 months.
Quoted from the lender's page. checked 2026-08-25
What we recorded when we read the page
The checker's notes for this row, kept as written so that you can see what was read, what was quoted and what could not be read. Wording in quotation marks is the lender's.
Every fetch attempt against universalcredit.com on 2026-08-25 (root domain with and without www, /personal-loans, /personal-loan, /how-it-works, /rates, /loans) failed with either a robots.txt fetch error or a 404, so no page content could be read. category is a provisional placeholder pending a readable official page. Official example: '$10,000 loan with a 36-month term and a 28.47% APR (which includes a 22.99% yearly interest rate and a 7% one-time origination fee), you would receive $9,300 and would have a required monthly payment of $387.05. Over the life of the loan, your payments would total $13,933.62.' Loans are made by partner banks (Universal Credit is an Upgrade brand). Read in the requester's Chrome (Claude in Chrome) on 2026-08-25.
Who owns it?
Who owns this lender is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- If your credit is not at the top, the number to budget is $457.98 a month, not $330.66. The advertised figure is the floor of a range $4,583 wide on this loan.
- If you need the full $10,000 in your account, borrow $11,110 at the highest fee, or $10,554 at the lowest — $1,110 is taken before the money arrives at the top of the range, and it is already inside the APR.
- If you will not set up autopay, the published rate does not apply; the lender says the rate assumes it.
- If the best-case total is what matters, Happen works out at $10,945 on the same basis — compare the two.
- Do not decide yet if you are choosing the term to get the payment down: the same $10,000 over 60 months is $220.88 a month instead of $330.66, but $13,253 in total instead of $11,904 — the term is the number you control.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review and it is not an offer. We have not borrowed from Universal Credit, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published range turns into as a monthly payment and a total, before you apply.
Sources
- Universal Credit rates page — every figure on this page. checked 2026-08-25
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Universal Credit alternatives, by total repayable
- Every lender we hold, and which publish a range
- Work out your own repayment
- APR, fee and term: the three numbers behind the payment
- How these figures are produced
- Universal Credit vs Happen
- Universal Credit vs Upstart
- Universal Credit vs Happy Money
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.