How to read a two-lender comparison page
A vs page shows two gaps, not one: the gap at the lowest published APR and the gap at the highest. When the lender that leads at the floor trails at the ceiling, the order flips, and nothing on the page can tell you which end you will land on.
Every comparison page on this site puts two lenders from the same market and the same category side by side. It lists the monthly payment and the total repayable at both ends of each published APR range, plus the amount signed for once the origination fee is added. The provider list shows which lenders have a page, and what a personal loan costs explains the columns. This article is about reading the two pages that matter most to a comparison, using one US pair and one UK pair.
I chose both pairs on purpose so that the order flips between best case and worst case. A pair where one lender leads at both ends is easy to read. A pair where the lead changes is the one that needs a method.
Why are there two gaps and not one?
Because a published range has two ends, and the lender decides where you sit. The best case on this site is the lowest published APR with the lowest published fee. The worst case is the highest APR with the highest fee. The comparison page reports the difference between the two lenders at each end separately, and the two differences are often not even the same sign.
That is the whole reason a single "from" rate cannot settle a comparison. APR, fee and term covers how a range becomes a payment. Here the question is narrower: once both payments are computed, which number on the page do you read first?
The US pair: LightStream and SoFi
Both are online lenders, both publish both ends of their range, and both quote the rate with autopay. SoFi publishes 6.99% to 35.49% APR with an origination fee of 0% to 7%, and LightStream publishes 7.24% to 24.89% APR with no origination fee (checked 2026-08-25). The reference loan is $10,000 over 36 months.
| $10,000 over 36 months | SoFi | LightStream |
|---|---|---|
| Best-case payment | $308.73 | $309.87 |
| Best-case total repayable | $11,114 | $11,155 |
| Worst-case payment | $455.14 | $397.02 |
| Worst-case total repayable | $16,385 | $14,293 |
| Worst-case amount signed for | $10,753 | $10,000 |
^ Source: data/computed_for_articles.json, computed from each lender's published rates page; checked 2026-08-25.
At the floor, SoFi leads by a small amount. At the ceiling, LightStream leads by a large one.
The best-case gap is $41 over three years (checked 2026-08-25). The worst-case gap is $2,092, and it points the other way. The LightStream vs SoFi page shows the same figures for 5,000 and 20,000 and for 60 months. The calculator lets you put in any amount and rate within either range.
Where the amount signed for comes in
SoFi's worst-case row has one number LightStream's does not: an amount signed for of $10,753 against $10,000 received. SoFi's page says the origination fee "will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive" (checked 2026-08-25). This site keeps the cash in hand at $10,000 and increases the note, the amount signed for, instead.
The payment of $455.14 is computed on the $10,000 received at 35.49% APR, because APR in the US is defined on the amount financed, which excludes the fee. So the fee does not change the payment column. It shows up as a larger note and as a larger cost of credit, which is $6,385 in SoFi's worst case (checked 2026-08-25). SoFi's page also says the fee is optional and taken in exchange for a lower rate, so the 7% end and the 35.49% end need not arrive together. The published range does not say which combinations are offered, and I have not assumed one.
The UK pair: HSBC UK and Nationwide
Both are banks, both publish a representative APR and a maximum, and neither charges an arrangement fee. HSBC UK publishes 6.5% APR representative for loans between £7,500 and £20,000, with a maximum of 22.9%. Nationwide publishes 5.9% representative for £7,500 to £25,000, with 29.9% as the top of every amount band (checked 2026-08-25). In the UK, the representative APR is what at least 51% of accepted applicants are expected to receive, so it is not a floor in the US sense.
| £10,000 over 36 months | Nationwide | HSBC UK |
|---|---|---|
| Representative payment | £303.07 | £305.64 |
| Representative total repayable | £10,911 | £11,003 |
| Maximum-APR payment | £405.29 | £375.72 |
| Maximum-APR total repayable | £14,590 | £13,526 |
^ Source: data/computed_for_articles.json, computed from each lender's published rates page with the UK effective-rate convention; checked 2026-08-25.
The pattern is the same as the US pair. The lender with the lower representative rate has the higher maximum.
The HSBC UK vs Nationwide page carries the 60-month figures too. Nationwide's own representative example gives £192.15 a month and £11,529.00 total for £10,000 over 60 months (checked 2026-08-25). The generator produces £192.15 and £11,529 from the same inputs (checked 2026-08-25). That is the check figure the UK convention is tested against. No amount signed for appears in this pair because neither bank publishes a fee.
When does the order flip?
It flips when one lender's range is wider than the other's on both sides. SoFi's floor is below LightStream's and its ceiling is above it, so SoFi wins the best case and loses the worst case. Nationwide sits below HSBC UK at the representative rate and above it at the maximum. A comparison page marks the leader in each row, and reading the two rows together tells you whether the pair flips.
If it does not flip, the comparison is one-sided and the page says so in both rows. If it does flip, the comparison depends on where each lender places you, which no published page states. LightStream's own disclosure says at least 33.00% of approved applicants applying for the lowest rate qualified for it in the quarter to June 30, 2026 (checked 2026-08-25). SoFi, HSBC UK, and Nationwide publish no equivalent figure, so the share of applicants at each end is not stated on those lenders' published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
Does the term change which lender leads?
No, not in these two pairs, but it changes the size of every gap. Over 60 months at $10,000, SoFi's best case is $11,878 and LightStream's is $11,949, while the worst cases are $21,483 and $17,572 (checked 2026-08-25). The leader in each row is unchanged, and both gaps widen.
The term is the number you control works through why the payment falls and the total rises when the term is stretched.
The US $10,000 over 36 months list orders lenders by best-case total repayable, which is why SoFi sits above LightStream there. The ordering is a statement about published floors, not a prediction.
What I left out of the arithmetic
The autopay discount. SoFi's range assumes a 0.25% autopay discount plus a 0.25% member discount, and LightStream's assumes a 0.50% AutoPay discount (checked 2026-08-25). Without autopay, both ranges move up by the amount each page states. I left this out because it shifts both lenders in the same direction and does not change the flip. LightStream's page also does not state loan amounts, so the minimum and maximum you can borrow from LightStream are not stated on the lender's published page (checked 2026-08-25).
Where the answer changes
- If the rate you are offered sits above 24.89%, LightStream's published range no longer contains it, and the comparison becomes SoFi against a lender that has not offered you a rate (checked 2026-08-25).
- If you are borrowing outside £7,500 to £20,000 in the UK, HSBC UK's 6.5% representative rate does not apply, and Nationwide's bands move to 6.9% at £5,000 to £7,499 and 14.4% at £1,000 to £2,999 (checked 2026-08-25).
- Do not decide yet if the only gap you have seen is the $41 one. The worst-case gap in the same pair is $2,092, and the page cannot tell you which of the two applies to you (checked 2026-08-25).
Who this article is not for
If you already hold a written offer from one lender with a fixed APR and fee, the range on a comparison page no longer applies to you. The calculator with your offered rate is the only figure that matters, and this article about ranges will not add to it.
Sources
- SoFi personal loans page, https://www.sofi.com/personal-loans/, checked 2026-08-25
- LightStream personal loans page, https://www.lightstream.com/personal-loans, checked 2026-08-25
- LightStream rate disclosure, https://www.lightstream.com/, checked 2026-08-25
- HSBC UK personal loans page, https://www.hsbc.co.uk/loans/products/personal/, checked 2026-08-25
- Nationwide loan rates page, https://www.nationwide.co.uk/loans/loan-rates, checked 2026-08-25
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Regulation Z §1026.22, https://www.consumerfinance.gov/rules-policy/regulations/1026/22/, checked 2026-08-25
- FCA Handbook CONC 3.5, https://www.handbook.fca.org.uk/handbook/CONC/3/5.html, checked 2026-08-25
- data/computed_for_articles.json and data/dataset.json, generated from the pages above, checked 2026-08-25
How this article was made. Written by Kaz, an independent publisher. All figures come from the companies' own published documentation or regulator publications; each figure carries the date it was last checked. I have not borrowed from these lenders, nothing here is a personal test result, and nothing here is financial advice. The arithmetic is shown so you can recalculate with your own numbers. Found an error? Use the contact form; corrections are logged on the Editorial policy page.
Related articles
- APR, fee, and term: the three numbers behind the payment
- What a loan marketplace is paid for
- What the headline APR leaves out
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.