What the headline APR leaves out
The "from" rate on a lender's page is the floor of a range, priced with the lowest fee and, at nine US lenders, with autopay. It leaves out where in the range you land, what the fee does to the note, and what early settlement costs in the UK.
Whose rate is the headline rate?
At least a third of those who applied for it, on the one page that says so. LightStream discloses that at least 33.00% of approved applicants applying for the lowest rate qualified for it, based on data from 04/01/2026 to 06/30/2026 (checked 2026-08-25). That is the only share-of-applicants figure I found on any of the lender pages in the provider list; the others publish the range and nothing about its distribution.
The width of the range is the reason that figure matters. On LightStream's page the floor of 7.24% gives $309.87 a month on $10,000 over 36 months, and the 24.89% ceiling gives $397.02 (checked 2026-08-25).
Across the 22 US lenders with a computable range, the best-case total repayable on $10,000 over 36 months runs from $10,945 at Happen to $11,955 at OneMain Financial (checked 2026-08-25). The median is $11,279 (checked 2026-08-25). The worst-case totals for the 19 lenders publishing both ends run from $11,955 to $16,487, median $16,481 (checked 2026-08-25). The floors sit within about $1,000 of each other; the ceilings do not. The three-numbers article shows how each of those cells is computed.
Is the floor priced with autopay?
Yes, at 9 of the 27 US lenders in the dataset, and at none of the 20 UK lenders (checked 2026-08-25). LightStream states that its rates are quoted with the AutoPay discount and that rates without AutoPay are 0.50 percentage points higher (checked 2026-08-25). SoFi's floor of 6.99% reflects a 0.25% autopay discount and a further 0.25% member rate discount (checked 2026-08-25). Universal Credit says its lowest rates require autopay and paying off a portion of existing debt directly (checked 2026-08-25).
So a floor of 7.24% with autopay is 7.74% without it, and a floor of 6.99% at SoFi assumes two separate discounts. What the payment would be at those undiscounted rates is not stated on the lenders' published pages (checked 2026-08-25), so I do not show it. What I do show, on each d/ page, is a note that the published floor assumes autopay where the page says so.
What does the fee do to the amount you sign for?
It raises the note, the loan amount you sign for, not the payment. SoFi's page puts it in one sentence. The APR "reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 0%-7%, which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive" (checked 2026-08-25). Because the APR already contains the fee, the payment on the money received is computed at the published APR, and the fee shows up as a larger amount signed for.
Universal Credit's own example makes the mechanism visible. A $10,000 loan over 36 months at 28.47% APR pays out $9,300 and requires $387.05 a month, for total payments of $13,933.62 (checked 2026-08-25). The lender says that APR includes a 22.99% yearly interest rate and a 7% one-time origination fee (checked 2026-08-25). The formula on this site reproduces the $387.05 from $9,300 at 28.47% APR (checked 2026-08-25).
Turn that around and the note is the number to watch. On Universal Credit's page the published range is 11.69% to 35.99% APR with a 5.25% to 9.99% fee deducted from proceeds (checked 2026-08-25). To receive $10,000 at the maximum fee, the note is larger than $10,000 (checked 2026-08-25).
| Case | APR | Fee | Monthly | Signed for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Universal Credit, best | 11.69% | 5.25% | $330.66 | $10,554 |
| Universal Credit, worst | 35.99% | 9.99% | $457.98 | $11,110 |
| SoFi, best | 6.99% | 0% | $308.73 | $10,000 |
| SoFi, worst | 35.49% | 7% | $455.14 | $10,753 |
^ $10,000 received over 36 months; data/computed_for_articles.json from each lender's rates page (checked 2026-08-25). Totals: Universal Credit $11,904 best and $16,487 worst; SoFi $11,114 best and $16,385 worst.
Eleven US lenders in the dataset charge an origination fee, with maximums from 7% at SoFi to 10% at LendingPoint, OneMain Financial, and Oportun; nine publish no fee (checked 2026-08-25). In the UK dataset, no lender publishes a percentage origination fee and five state that there are no fees; Lendable's representative example includes a £445 loan fee on £7,500, stated as an amount rather than a rate (checked 2026-08-25). For the rest, the fee is not stated on the lender's published page (checked 2026-08-25), and I leave the cell blank rather than assume zero. What a personal loan costs explains how that blank is treated in the totals. The calculator accepts a fee percentage and shows the note alongside the payment.
What does early settlement cost in the UK?
Up to two months' interest, at the lenders that state a charge. Six UK lenders in the dataset publish an early-repayment charge, and none of the US lenders do (checked 2026-08-25). Tesco Bank's page states that a "2 month interest charge will be applied" on early settlement (checked 2026-08-25). Lloyds Bank and Halifax, which share one published example, put the charge at up to 58 days' interest (checked 2026-08-25).
The published APR does not include that charge, because the APR assumes the loan runs to term. A reader who expects to clear a UK loan early is looking at a total repayable that the headline rate cannot show. The representative-example convention that produces the UK headline is a separate matter, and the representative APR article sets it beside the US range.
What I could not read
Universal Credit's own site did not return a readable page to my checker on August 25, 2026. The range, fee, and worked example above were read in a browser session on that date, and the dataset records that note. SoFi's separate rates-and-fees pages returned errors on the same day, so its figures come from the main personal loans page only (checked 2026-08-25). Where a page could not be read at all, the lender stays on the list with no rate rather than a third-party rate.
Where the answer changes
- If the lender publishes no fee at all, the note equals the amount received on this site, and the worst case may be understated. Upstart publishes 6.3% to 35.99% APR and no fee range, only a single worked example (checked 2026-08-25).
- If you will repay early in the UK, the six lenders that publish a charge are the ones whose total you can estimate. For the others, the charge is not stated on the lender's published page (checked 2026-08-25).
- If the only number you have is a "from" rate, do not decide yet. LightStream's 33.00% disclosure covers approved applicants who applied for the lowest rate. The ceiling at the same lender is $3,137 more in total repayable on $10,000 (checked 2026-08-25).
Who this article is not for
If a lender has already given you a single APR, a fixed fee amount, and a payment schedule, the questions here are settled for that offer. The remaining check is whether the amount on the note matches the amount you expect to receive, which the offer document states directly.
Sources
- LightStream personal loans page, https://www.lightstream.com/personal-loans, checked 2026-08-25
- LightStream homepage rate disclosure, https://www.lightstream.com/, checked 2026-08-25
- SoFi personal loans page, https://www.sofi.com/personal-loans/, checked 2026-08-25
- Universal Credit personal loans page, https://www.universalcredit.com/personal-loans, checked 2026-08-25
- Universal Credit worked example, https://www.universal-credit.com/, checked 2026-08-25
- Tesco Bank loans page, https://www.tescobank.com/loans/, checked 2026-08-25
- Lloyds Bank loans page, https://www.lloydsbank.com/loans.html, checked 2026-08-25
- Halifax loans page, https://www.halifax.co.uk/loans.html, checked 2026-08-25
- Upstart personal loans page, https://www.upstart.com/personal-loans, checked 2026-08-25
How this article was made. Written by Kaz, an independent publisher. All figures come from the companies' own published documentation or regulator publications; each figure carries the date it was last checked. I have not borrowed from these lenders, nothing here is a personal test result, and nothing here is financial advice. The arithmetic is shown so you can recalculate with your own numbers. Found an error? Use the contact form; corrections are logged on the Editorial policy page.
Related articles
- APR, fee, and term: the three numbers behind the payment
- What a loan marketplace is paid for
- The term is the number you control
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.