Bank or credit union · United States
Citi vs First Tech Federal Credit Union: total repayable, not the headline APR
Best case on $10,000 over 36 months, First Tech Federal Credit Union costs $11,114 to repay and Citi $11,614 — a difference of $500 over the term.
Only Citi publishes the top of its range, so the worst case can be compared on one side only.
Side by side
Both columns use the published APR range and fee range of each lender, computed on the same loan.
| Citi | First Tech Federal Credit Union | |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest published APR | 9.99% with autopay; +0.50 without | 6.99% |
| Highest published APR | 17.49% | not published |
| Origination fee | none, as published | not stated |
| Loan amounts | $2,000 to $30,000 | up to $50,000 |
| Terms | 12 to 60 months | not stated |
| You sign for, worst fee | $10,000 | $10,000 |
| Monthly, best case | $322.62 | $308.73 |
| Total repayable, best case | $11,614 | $11,114 |
| Monthly, worst case | $358.97 | top not published |
| Total repayable, worst case | $12,923 | — |
| Total repayable, best case, 60 months | $12,745 | $11,878 |
| Owner | not confirmed | not confirmed |
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.
Where does the answer change?
The ranking above holds only under the conditions listed here.
- Do not decide yet until you hold both offers: First Tech Federal Credit Union stays ahead only if the APR it actually offers you is below 9.99% — Citi's published floor, which is the point where its $11,614 best-case total is matched on this loan. An offer above that number reverses this page.
Who this is not for
This compares published ranges and nothing else. It is not a judgment about service, approval odds or speed, and we have not borrowed from either. If the two totals are close, this page will not decide it for you and should not.
Sources
- Citi rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- First Tech Federal Credit Union rates page. checked 2026-08-25
Related
- Citi in full
- First Tech Federal Credit Union in full
- Other lenders near First Tech Federal Credit Union
- Put your own amount and term in
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.