Bank or credit union · United States
First Tech Federal Credit Union vs Wells Fargo: total repayable, not the headline APR
Best case on $10,000 over 36 months, Wells Fargo costs $11,073 to repay and First Tech Federal Credit Union $11,114 — a difference of $41 over the term.
Only Wells Fargo publishes the top of its range, so the worst case can be compared on one side only.
Side by side
Both columns use the published APR range and fee range of each lender, computed on the same loan.
| First Tech Federal Credit Union | Wells Fargo | |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest published APR | 6.99% | 6.74% |
| Highest published APR | not published | 26.74% |
| Origination fee | not stated | none, as published |
| Loan amounts | up to $50,000 | $3,000 to $100,000 |
| Terms | not stated | 12 to 84 months |
| You sign for, worst fee | $10,000 | $10,000 |
| Monthly, best case | $308.73 | $307.58 |
| Total repayable, best case | $11,114 | $11,073 |
| Monthly, worst case | top not published | $406.86 |
| Total repayable, worst case | — | $14,647 |
| Total repayable, best case, 60 months | $11,878 | $11,807 |
| Owner | not confirmed | not confirmed |
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.
Where does the answer change?
The ranking above holds only under the conditions listed here.
- Do not decide yet until you hold both offers: Wells Fargo stays ahead only if the APR it actually offers you is below 6.99% — First Tech Federal Credit Union's published floor, which is the point where its $11,114 best-case total is matched on this loan. An offer above that number reverses this page.
Who this is not for
This compares published ranges and nothing else. It is not a judgment about service, approval odds or speed, and we have not borrowed from either. If the two totals are close, this page will not decide it for you and should not.
Sources
- First Tech Federal Credit Union rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Wells Fargo rates page. checked 2026-08-25
Related
- First Tech Federal Credit Union in full
- Wells Fargo in full
- Other lenders near Wells Fargo
- Put your own amount and term in
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.