Direct lender · United States
United States student loan refinance, direct lender, on a $10,000 balance, by interest at the ceiling
On $10,000 over 10 years, the 16 published ranges we hold run from $3,316 to $8,625 in interest at the top of the range.
The lowest ceiling is Brazos Fixed at $3,316, from a published range of 3.99% to 5.99%.
At this balance, in order
The table drops any product whose published minimum is above $10,000 or whose maximum is below it, and adds a stated origination fee once.
| Lender and product | Published range | Minimum loan | Origination fee | Interest at the ceiling | Interest at the floor | Monthly payment at the ceiling |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brazos Fixed | 3.99% to 5.99% with autopay | — | none | $3,316 | $2,144 | $111 |
| Yrefy Fixed | 0.10% to 5.99% autopay basis not stated | — | not stated | $3,316 | $50 | $111 |
| RISLA Fixed | 3.49% to 7.64% with autopay | $7,500 | none | $4,332 | $1,861 | $119 |
| MEFA Fixed | 6.20% to 8.99% autopay basis not stated | $10,000 | not stated | $5,195 | $3,443 | $127 |
| ISL Education Lending Fixed | 5.15% to 9.40% with autopay | $5,000 | none | $5,462 | $2,816 | $129 |
| Laurel Road Fixed | 4.74% to 9.75% with autopay | $5,000 | none | $5,692 | $2,576 | $131 |
| INvestEd Fixed | 5.41% to 9.88% with autopay | $5,000 | not stated | $5,778 | $2,970 | $131 |
| Laurel Road Variable | 5.04% to 10.05% with autopay | $5,000 | none | $5,891 | $2,751 | $132 |
| Citizens Fixed | 5.90% to 10.65% autopay basis not stated | $10,000 | not stated | $6,293 | $3,262 | $136 |
| INvestEd Variable | 6.53% to 10.67% with autopay | $5,000 | not stated | $6,307 | $3,644 | $136 |
| Citizens Variable | 5.91% to 10.92% autopay basis not stated | $10,000 | not stated | $6,476 | $3,268 | $137 |
| SoFi Fixed | 3.99% to 10.99% with autopay | — | none | $6,523 | $2,144 | $138 |
| SoFi Variable | 5.74% to 10.99% with autopay | — | none | $6,523 | $3,166 | $138 |
| Navy Federal Credit Union Variable | 4.52% to 11.32% with autopay | — | none | $6,748 | $2,448 | $140 |
| Navy Federal Credit Union Fixed | 4.20% to 11.80% with autopay | — | none | $7,078 | $2,264 | $142 |
| College Ave Fixed | 6.99% to 13.99% with autopay | — | not stated | $8,625 | $3,927 | $155 |
This table mixes autopay bases. Lenders do not publish on the same basis. Most print the range with a 0.25 point autopay discount already taken off; some print it before the discount; some do not say. We print the figure as published and label the basis where the lender states it. We do not add or remove the discount, because a figure we adjusted could not be checked against the lender's page.
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. The rate you are offered, any lender-specific discount you do or do not qualify for, and variable-rate movements are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on you and on the future. Where a lender states an origination fee it is added once. The published range is used exactly as printed: where the lender says the range already includes its autopay discount, we say so and do not add it back. The full method is at Method.
Where does the answer change?
The order above holds only under these conditions.
- If you are offered the bottom of the range, the order changes. At the floor the lowest is Yrefy Fixed at $50, not Brazos.
- 4 of these ranges do not state that autopay is already included, so their printed ceiling may be a before-discount figure; the size of any discount is not stated on those pages.
- Do not decide yet if your balance is outside the published limits: Citizens starts at $10,000; Citizens stops at $300,000; RISLA starts at $7,500; RISLA stops at $250,000, so the rows on this page are not the rows at your balance. Between the limits the order holds — at $30,000 Brazos stays lowest at $9,949.
Who this is not for
This is not a list of the best lenders. It is every published range we hold that a borrower with this balance could be quoted from, in worst-case order. We have not borrowed from these lenders and we do not rate them.
Sources
- Brazos rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Yrefy rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- RISLA rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- MEFA rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- ISL Education Lending rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Laurel Road rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- INvestEd rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Citizens rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- SoFi rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Navy Federal Credit Union rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- College Ave rates page. checked 2026-08-25
Related
- Every lender, and which publish a full range
- Interest calculator
- What refinancing costs
- Brazos rates in full
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from the sources' published pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.