Bank or credit union · United Kingdom
Nationwide alternatives, ranked by total repayable
0 of the 8 nearest bank or credit unions we hold work out cheaper than Nationwide best case, which costs £10,911 to repay on £10,000 over 36 months.
None of them is cheaper best case: Nationwide has the lowest published floor in this group.
The group, by total repayable
Every lender of the same type and market that publishes a computable range covering this loan, in order of the best-case total.
| Lender | Lowest APR | Highest APR | Fee | Total repayable, best | Total repayable, worst |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nationwide (this page) | 5.90% representative | 29.90% | none, as published | £10,911 | £14,590 |
| M&S Bank | 5.90% representative | not published | none, as published | £10,911 | — |
| first direct | 5.90% representative | 18.90% | not stated | £10,911 | £12,913 |
| TSB | 6.10% representative | not published | not stated | £10,941 | — |
| Tesco Bank | 6.40% representative | 34.50% | not stated | £10,988 | £15,284 |
| Santander | 6.40% representative | 29.90% | not stated | £10,988 | £14,590 |
| HSBC UK | 6.50% representative | 22.90% | none, as published | £11,003 | £13,526 |
| NatWest | 6.90% representative | not published | not stated | £11,065 | — |
| Barclays | 7.05% representative | not published | not stated | £11,088 | — |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.
When to stay where you are
Conditions under which the table above should not move you.
- Nothing in this group has a lower published floor, so the headline alone is not a reason to move away from Nationwide.
- Watch the width of the range. Tesco Bank (£4,296 wide), Santander (£3,603 wide) can cost far more at the top than the floor suggests.
- Do not decide yet if you are borrowing a different amount: put your amount and term in rather than reading the £10,000 column, because minimum and maximum loan sizes drop lenders out.
Who this is not for
This is a ranking of published ranges, not a shortlist of better lenders. We have not borrowed from any of them. If your reason for choosing is speed, service or approval odds, the order on this page tells you nothing about that.
Sources
- Nationwide rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- M&S Bank rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- first direct rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- TSB rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Tesco Bank rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Santander rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- HSBC UK rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- NatWest rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Barclays rates page. checked 2026-08-25
Related
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.