Bank or credit union · United Kingdom
Barclays personal loan: what you repay on £10,000
At its lowest published APR of 7.05%, Barclays costs £308.00 a month on £10,000 over 36 months, or £11,088 in total — £1,088 of interest.
That is the representative APR — the rate at least 51% of accepted applicants get. The lender does not publish a maximum, so the top of the range is not knowable from its page.
What does the lender publish?
Barclays publishes the terms below on its own site; the wording of its rate disclosure is quoted further down.
| Term | As published |
|---|---|
| Representative APR | 7.05% representative |
| Highest published APR | not published |
| Origination or arrangement fee | not stated |
| Loan amounts | not stated |
| Terms | 24 to 60 months |
| Early-repayment charge | yes — see the lender’s wording below |
| Late fee | not stated |
| Rate check without a hard credit search | yes, as published |
Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Highest published APR: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Whether the APR assumes autopay: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Representative example: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Minimum loan: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Maximum loan: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Lowest origination fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Highest origination fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Whether the fee is deducted from the proceeds: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Late fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Minimum credit score: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
What does it come to at other amounts and terms?
Each row re-computes the loan at the lowest and highest published APR, with the lowest and highest published fee.
| Borrow | Over | You sign for (worst fee) | Monthly, best case | Total repayable, best case | Monthly, worst case | Total repayable, worst case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| £5,000 | 36 months | £5,000 | £154.00 | £5,544 | top of range not published | — |
| £5,000 | 60 months | £5,000 | £98.61 | £5,917 | top of range not published | — |
| £10,000 | 36 months | £10,000 | £308.00 | £11,088 | top of range not published | — |
| £10,000 | 60 months | £10,000 | £197.22 | £11,833 | top of range not published | — |
| £20,000 | 36 months | £20,000 | £616.01 | £22,176 | top of range not published | — |
| £20,000 | 60 months | £20,000 | £394.44 | £23,666 | top of range not published | — |
| £35,000 | 36 months | £35,000 | £1,078.01 | £38,808 | top of range not published | — |
| £35,000 | 60 months | £35,000 | £690.27 | £41,416 | top of range not published | — |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.
Is there an origination fee?
Barclays's rates page does not say whether it charges an origination fee. We have not assumed either way; the figures above use no fee and say so. checked 2026-08-25
The APR published by the lender already includes the origination fee, which is why the payment here is worked out on the amount you receive at the published APR, not on the larger amount you sign for at a lower interest rate. Both routes give the same payment; the lender's own example, where it publishes one, is the check.
What does the rate disclosure say?
7.05% APR Representative on loans of £7,500 - £15,000 over 2-5 years, (your rate may differ*)
Quoted from the lender's page. checked 2026-08-25
What we recorded when we read the page
The checker's notes for this row, kept as written so that you can see what was read, what was quoted and what could not be read. Wording in quotation marks is the lender's.
The representative-example block on barclays.co.uk/loans/personal/ is a JavaScript-populated template — 'APR Representative based on a loan of [amount] repayable over [months] months at an interest rate of [rate] pa (fixed). Monthly repayment of [amount]. Total amount payable [amount].' — that did not render actual figures via WebFetch on 2026-08-25 (the calculator sub-page likewise showed only blank placeholders), so treated as not_readable for pricing. Loans mentioned as available over '2-5 years', amount/rate 'depending on the loan amount'. Early repayment: 'We'll charge a fee equal to 30 days' interest on the amount you're repaying, as well as any other interest that's due.' Soft check: 'Personal price quote – with no credit footprint.' Representative APR shown as 'variable' on the page ('Representative APR (variable)'). No full representative example (monthly/total) shown on the loans page. Read in the requester's Chrome (Claude in Chrome) on 2026-08-25.
Who owns it?
Who owns this lender is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- If you may repay early, this lender publishes an early-settlement charge; the total above assumes you run to term.
- If the best-case total is what matters, M&S Bank works out at £10,911 on the same basis — compare the two.
- Do not decide yet if you are choosing the term to get the payment down: the same £10,000 over 60 months is £197.22 a month instead of £308.00, but £11,833 in total instead of £11,088 — the term is the number you control.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review and it is not an offer. We have not borrowed from Barclays, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published range turns into as a monthly payment and a total, before you apply.
Sources
- Barclays rates page — every figure on this page. checked 2026-08-25
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Barclays alternatives, by total repayable
- Every lender we hold, and which publish a range
- Work out your own repayment
- APR, fee and term: the three numbers behind the payment
- How these figures are produced
- Barclays vs M&S Bank
- Barclays vs Nationwide
- Barclays vs first direct
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.