Bank or credit union · United Kingdom
Nationwide personal loan: what you repay on £10,000
At its lowest published APR of 5.90%, Nationwide costs £303.07 a month on £10,000 over 36 months, or £10,911 in total — £911 of interest.
At the top of its published range, 29.90% APR, the same loan is £405.29 a month and £14,590 in total. The published range is worth £3,680 on this loan.
What does the lender publish?
Nationwide publishes the terms below on its own site; the wording of its rate disclosure is quoted further down.
| Term | As published |
|---|---|
| Representative APR | 5.90% representative |
| Highest published APR | 29.90% |
| Representative APR by amount | £1,000–£2,999: 14.4%; £3,000–£4,999: 9.8%; £5,000–£7,499: 6.9%; £7,500–£25,000: 5.9%; £25,001–£35,000: 6.9%; £35,001–£50,000: 7.7% |
| Origination or arrangement fee | none, as published |
| Loan amounts | £1,000 to £50,000 |
| Terms | 12 to 120 months |
| Early-repayment charge | none, as published |
| Late fee | not stated |
| Rate check without a hard credit search | yes, as published |
| Lender's representative example | £10,000 over 60 months: £192.15 a month, total repayable £11,529.00, 5.9% fixed |
Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Late fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Minimum credit score: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
What does it come to at other amounts and terms?
Each row re-computes the loan at the lowest and highest published APR, with the lowest and highest published fee.
| Borrow | Over | You sign for (worst fee) | Monthly, best case | Total repayable, best case | Monthly, worst case | Total repayable, worst case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| £5,000 | 36 months | £5,000 | £151.54 | £5,455 | £202.64 | £7,295 |
| £5,000 | 60 months | £5,000 | £96.08 | £5,765 | £151.03 | £9,062 |
| £10,000 | 36 months | £10,000 | £303.07 | £10,911 | £405.29 | £14,590 |
| £10,000 | 60 months | £10,000 | £192.15 | £11,529 | £302.05 | £18,123 |
| £20,000 | 36 months | £20,000 | £606.14 | £21,821 | £810.58 | £29,181 |
| £20,000 | 60 months | £20,000 | £384.30 | £23,058 | £604.11 | £36,247 |
| £35,000 | 36 months | £35,000 | £1,060.75 | £38,187 | £1,418.51 | £51,066 |
| £35,000 | 60 months | £35,000 | £672.53 | £40,352 | £1,057.19 | £63,432 |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.
Is there an origination fee?
Nationwide states that it charges no origination or arrangement fee, so the amount you borrow is the amount that reaches you. checked 2026-08-25
The APR published by the lender already includes the origination fee, which is why the payment here is worked out on the amount you receive at the published APR, not on the larger amount you sign for at a lower interest rate. Both routes give the same payment; the lender's own example, where it publishes one, is the check.
What does the rate disclosure say?
Based on an assumed loan amount of £10,000 over 60 months at an interest rate of 5.9% p.a (fixed). Monthly repayment £192.15. Total amount repayable £11,529.00.
Quoted from the lender's page. checked 2026-08-25
What we recorded when we read the page
The checker's notes for this row, kept as written so that you can see what was read, what was quoted and what could not be read. Wording in quotation marks is the lender's.
'We don't charge fees on loans, so your APR will be the same as your interest rate.' 'There's no charge for making overpayments or paying off the loan early.' Term: 1-7 years standard, up to 10 years if borrowing £10,000 or more. apr_bands figures shown per amount band are the low end of each band's range; page states the top end of every band is 29.9% (used as apr_max).
Who owns it?
Who owns this lender is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- If your credit is not at the top, the number to budget is £405.29 a month, not £303.07. The advertised figure is the floor of a range £3,680 wide on this loan.
- Do not decide yet if you are choosing the term to get the payment down: the same £10,000 over 60 months is £192.15 a month instead of £303.07, but £11,529 in total instead of £10,911 — the term is the number you control.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review and it is not an offer. We have not borrowed from Nationwide, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published range turns into as a monthly payment and a total, before you apply.
Sources
- Nationwide rates page — every figure on this page. checked 2026-08-25
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Nationwide alternatives, by total repayable
- Every lender we hold, and which publish a range
- Work out your own repayment
- APR, fee and term: the three numbers behind the payment
- How these figures are produced
- Nationwide vs M&S Bank
- Nationwide vs first direct
- Nationwide vs TSB
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.