Online lender · United States

LightStream personal loan: what you repay on $10,000

At its lowest published APR of 7.24%, LightStream costs $309.87 a month on $10,000 over 36 months, or $11,155 in total — $1,155 of interest.

At the top of its published range, 24.89% APR, the same loan is $397.02 a month and $14,293 in total. The published range is worth $3,137 on this loan.

What does the lender publish?

LightStream publishes the terms below on its own site; the wording of its rate disclosure is quoted further down.

Source: LightStream rates page. checked 2026-08-25
TermAs published
Lowest published APR7.24% with autopay; +0.50 without
Highest published APR24.89%
Origination or arrangement feenone, as published
Loan amountsnot stated
Terms24 to 240 months
Early-repayment chargenone, as published
Late feenot stated
Rate check without a hard credit searchnot stated

Minimum loan: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Maximum loan: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Whether the fee is deducted from the proceeds: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Minimum credit score: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Whether the rate check is a soft search: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

States not served: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

What does it come to at other amounts and terms?

Each row re-computes the loan at the lowest and highest published APR, with the lowest and highest published fee.

Computed from the published APR range and fee range. Best case is the lowest APR with the lowest fee; worst case the highest of each. “You sign for” is the loan amount needed for $10,000 to reach your account after the highest published fee is deducted; interest on the fee is inside the APR. checked 2026-08-25
BorrowOverYou sign for (worst fee)Monthly, best caseTotal repayable, best caseMonthly, worst caseTotal repayable, worst case
$5,00036 months$5,000$154.93$5,578$198.51$7,146
$5,00060 months$5,000$99.57$5,974$146.43$8,786
$10,00036 months$10,000$309.87$11,155$397.02$14,293
$10,00060 months$10,000$199.15$11,949$292.87$17,572
$20,00036 months$20,000$619.74$22,311$794.03$28,585
$20,00060 months$20,000$398.29$23,898$585.74$35,144
$35,00036 months$35,000$1,084.54$39,044$1,389.56$50,024
$35,00060 months$35,000$697.01$41,821$1,025.04$61,502

Scroll sideways on a phone.

How that is worked out

amount received = the amount you want in your account (10,000 on most pages) amount signed for = amount received / (1 - origination fee %) monthly rate = APR / 12 (United States) or (1 + APR)^(1/12) - 1 (United Kingdom) monthly payment = amount received x monthly rate / (1 - (1 + monthly rate)^(-months)) total repayable = monthly payment x months cost of credit = total repayable - amount received cost per 1,000 = cost of credit / (amount received / 1,000)

Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.

Is there an origination fee?

LightStream states that it charges no origination or arrangement fee, so the amount you borrow is the amount that reaches you. checked 2026-08-25

The APR published by the lender already includes the origination fee, which is why the payment here is worked out on the amount you receive at the published APR, not on the larger amount you sign for at a lower interest rate. Both routes give the same payment; the lender's own example, where it publishes one, is the check.

What does the rate disclosure say?

Low fixed rates from 7.24%-24.89% APR with AutoPay. Rates without AutoPay are 0.50% points higher. Maximum APR for a LightStream loan is 25.39%. Loan terms range from 24 - 240 months depending on the loan type.

Quoted from the lender's page. checked 2026-08-25

What we recorded when we read the page

The checker's notes for this row, kept as written so that you can see what was read, what was quoted and what could not be read. Wording in quotation marks is the lender's.

Rates vary by loan purpose (auto, home improvement, debt consolidation, etc.) and specific numeric APR min/max figures could not be extracted from https://www.lightstream.com/personal-loans or the LightStream homepage on 2026-08-25 (loan-purpose rate tables appear to require interactive selection); treated as not_readable for APR. LightStream states it "only approves good-to-excellent credit profiles." Florida residents subject to a documentary stamp tax of "slightly more than .0035 times your loan amount (or just over $35 for a $10,000 loan)." Rate shown is for the default purpose on lightstream.com (rates vary by loan purpose). 'Payment example: Monthly payments for a $10,000 loan at 7.24% APR with a term of 3 years would result in 36 monthly payments of $309.87.' Loan amounts not stated on the page read. Read in the requester's Chrome (Claude in Chrome) on 2026-08-25.

Who owns it?

Who owns this lender is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.

Where this leaves you

Who this page is not for

This is not a review and it is not an offer. We have not borrowed from LightStream, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published range turns into as a monthly payment and a total, before you apply.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.