United States · published rates only
United States personal loans for $35,000 over 36 months, by total repayable
Of the 20 lenders whose published range covers $35,000 over 36 months, the best-case total repayable runs from $38,309 to $41,664.
The lowest floor is Happen at $38,309 (5.96% APR). At the top of the published ranges the lowest is Alliant Credit Union at $41,844 and the highest Upstart at $57,706.
For this loan, in order
The table computes each lender at both ends of its published range on the same amount and term; lenders whose published minimum, maximum or terms exclude this loan are left out rather than guessed at.
| Lender | Type | Lowest APR | Highest APR | Fee | Monthly, best | Total repayable, best | Total repayable, worst |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Happen | Lending marketplace | 5.96% | 35.96% | 0% to 8% | $1,064.13 | $38,309 | $57,684 |
| PenFed Credit Union | Bank or credit union | 6.09% with autopay; +0.25 without | not published | none, as published | $1,066.20 | $38,383 | — |
| Achieve | Online lender | 6.25% | 35.99% | 1.99% to 9.99% | $1,068.74 | $38,475 | $57,706 |
| Upstart | Lending marketplace | 6.30% | 35.99% | not stated | $1,069.53 | $38,503 | $57,706 |
| Wells Fargo | Bank or credit union | 6.74% | 26.74% | none, as published | $1,076.54 | $38,756 | $51,264 |
| Best Egg | Online lender | 6.99% | 35.99% | 0.99% to 9.99% | $1,080.54 | $38,899 | $57,706 |
| Discover | Bank or credit union | 6.99% | 24.99% | none, as published | $1,080.54 | $38,899 | $50,091 |
| First Tech Federal Credit Union | Bank or credit union | 6.99% | not published | not stated | $1,080.54 | $38,899 | — |
| SoFi | Online lender | 6.99% with autopay; +0.25 without | 35.49% | 0% to 7% | $1,080.54 | $38,899 | $57,347 |
| LightStream | Online lender | 7.24% with autopay; +0.50 without | 24.89% | none, as published | $1,084.54 | $39,044 | $50,024 |
| Upgrade | Online lender | 7.74% | 35.99% | 1.85% to 9.99% | $1,092.58 | $39,333 | $57,706 |
| LendingPoint | Online lender | 7.99% | 35.99% | up to 10% | $1,096.61 | $39,478 | $57,706 |
| Rocket Loans | Online lender | 7.99% with autopay | 29.99% | 3.23% to 9.99% | $1,096.61 | $39,478 | $53,482 |
| TD Bank (TD Fit Loan) | Bank or credit union | 7.99% | 23.99% | none, as published | $1,096.61 | $39,478 | $49,427 |
| Navy Federal Credit Union | Bank or credit union | 8.74% | 18.00% | none, as published | $1,108.76 | $39,915 | $45,552 |
| Happy Money | Lending marketplace | 8.95% with autopay | not published | not stated | $1,112.18 | $40,038 | — |
| Alliant Credit Union | Bank or credit union | 8.99% with autopay; +0.40 without | 11.99% | none, as published | $1,112.83 | $40,062 | $41,844 |
| Prosper | Lending marketplace | 8.99% | 35.99% | not stated | $1,112.83 | $40,062 | $57,706 |
| Avant | Online lender | 9.95% | 35.99% | up to 9.99% | $1,128.53 | $40,627 | $57,706 |
| Universal Credit | Lending marketplace | 11.69% with autopay | 35.99% | 5.25% to 9.99% | $1,157.33 | $41,664 | $57,706 |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.
Where does the answer change?
The order above holds only under these conditions.
- 9 of these lenders charge an origination fee. It is inside their APR already; what it changes is the amount you sign for, which is above $35,000 on their pages.
- If your credit is mid-range rather than top, the order changes: at the top of the published ranges Alliant Credit Union is lowest, not Happen.
- 3 lenders publish a floor but no ceiling (PenFed Credit Union, First Tech Federal Credit Union, Happy Money), so their worst case cannot be computed and they may cost more than any figure here.
- Do not decide yet without looking at 60 months: the monthly payment falls but the total rises, and the same amount over 60 months has its own order.
Who this is not for
This is not a list of the best lenders and it is not advice. It is every lender we hold whose published range covers this loan, in order of the published floor. We have not borrowed from them and we do not rate them; the rate you are offered is decided by the lender, not by this page.
Sources
- Happen rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- PenFed Credit Union rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Achieve rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Upstart rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Wells Fargo rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Best Egg rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Discover rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- First Tech Federal Credit Union rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- SoFi rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- LightStream rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Upgrade rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- LendingPoint rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Rocket Loans rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- TD Bank (TD Fit Loan) rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Navy Federal Credit Union rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Happy Money rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Alliant Credit Union rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Prosper rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Avant rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Universal Credit rates page. checked 2026-08-25
Related
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.