Bank or credit union · United Kingdom
Metro Bank personal loan: what you repay on £10,000
At its lowest published APR of 7.90%, Metro Bank costs £311.65 a month on £10,000 over 36 months, or £11,219 in total — £1,219 of interest.
At the top of its published range, 7.90% APR, the same loan is £311.65 a month and £11,219 in total. The published range is worth £0 on this loan.
What does the lender publish?
Metro Bank publishes the terms below on its own site; the wording of its rate disclosure is quoted further down.
| Term | As published |
|---|---|
| Representative APR | 7.90% representative |
| Highest published APR | 7.90% |
| Origination or arrangement fee | none, as published |
| Loan amounts | £2,000 to £25,000 |
| Terms | 12 to 60 months |
| Early-repayment charge | none, as published |
| Late fee | not stated |
| Rate check without a hard credit search | not stated |
| Lender's representative example | £10,000 over 60 months: £200.99 a month, total repayable £12,059.40 |
Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Representative example: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Late fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Minimum credit score: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Whether the rate check is a soft search: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
What does it come to at other amounts and terms?
Each row re-computes the loan at the lowest and highest published APR, with the lowest and highest published fee.
| Borrow | Over | You sign for (worst fee) | Monthly, best case | Total repayable, best case | Monthly, worst case | Total repayable, worst case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| £5,000 | 36 months | £5,000 | £155.82 | £5,610 | £155.82 | £5,610 |
| £5,000 | 60 months | £5,000 | £100.49 | £6,030 | £100.49 | £6,030 |
| £10,000 | 36 months | £10,000 | £311.65 | £11,219 | £311.65 | £11,219 |
| £10,000 | 60 months | £10,000 | £200.99 | £12,059 | £200.99 | £12,059 |
| £20,000 | 36 months | £20,000 | £623.30 | £22,439 | £623.30 | £22,439 |
| £20,000 | 60 months | £20,000 | £401.97 | £24,118 | £401.97 | £24,118 |
| £35,000 | 36 months | outside the published range (£2,000 to £25,000; 12 to 60 months) | ||||
| £35,000 | 60 months | outside the published range (£2,000 to £25,000; 12 to 60 months) | ||||
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.
Is there an origination fee?
Metro Bank states that it charges no origination or arrangement fee, so the amount you borrow is the amount that reaches you. checked 2026-08-25
The APR published by the lender already includes the origination fee, which is why the payment here is worked out on the amount you receive at the published APR, not on the larger amount you sign for at a lower interest rate. Both routes give the same payment; the lender's own example, where it publishes one, is the check.
What does the rate disclosure say?
£10,000 over 60 months at 7.9% APR: £200.99 monthly, £12,059.40 total repayable (single fixed 7.9% representative APR for all approved customers).
Quoted from the lender's page. checked 2026-08-25
What we recorded when we read the page
The checker's notes for this row, kept as written so that you can see what was read, what was quoted and what could not be read. Wording in quotation marks is the lender's.
Metro Bank publishes a single flat 7.9% representative APR for all approved customers (no range) — apr_min=apr_max=7.9. Additional worked examples on the page: £3,000/60mo = £60.30/mo, £3,618.00 total; £5,000/60mo = £100.49/mo, £6,029.40 total. 'There's no arrangement fee' and 'There is also no early repayment fee.' Separate nominal interest rate was not disclosed distinctly from the APR figure (rate_nominal left null rather than assumed equal to APR). Page content suggested a hard credit check is used rather than a soft pre-qualification search, but no explicit official quote was captured, so soft_pull_prequal is left null/unconfirmed rather than set to false.
Who owns it?
Who owns this lender is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- If the best-case total is what matters, M&S Bank works out at £10,911 on the same basis — compare the two.
- Do not decide yet if you are choosing the term to get the payment down: the same £10,000 over 60 months is £200.99 a month instead of £311.65, but £12,059 in total instead of £11,219 — the term is the number you control.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review and it is not an offer. We have not borrowed from Metro Bank, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published range turns into as a monthly payment and a total, before you apply.
Sources
- Metro Bank rates page — every figure on this page. checked 2026-08-25
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Metro Bank alternatives, by total repayable
- Every lender we hold, and which publish a range
- Work out your own repayment
- APR, fee and term: the three numbers behind the payment
- How these figures are produced
- Metro Bank vs M&S Bank
- Metro Bank vs Nationwide
- Metro Bank vs first direct
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.