United Kingdom · published rates only
United Kingdom personal loans for £10,000 over 36 months, by total repayable
Of the 17 lenders whose published range covers £10,000 over 36 months, the best-case total repayable runs from £10,911 to £13,510.
The lowest floor is M&S Bank at £10,911 (5.90% APR). At the top of the published ranges the lowest is Metro Bank at £11,219 and the highest Lendable at £17,420.
For this loan, in order
The table computes each lender at both ends of its published range on the same amount and term; lenders whose published minimum, maximum or terms exclude this loan are left out rather than guessed at.
| Lender | Type | Lowest APR | Highest APR | Fee | Monthly, best | Total repayable, best | Total repayable, worst |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| M&S Bank | Bank or credit union | 5.90% representative | not published | none, as published | £303.07 | £10,911 | — |
| Nationwide | Bank or credit union | 5.90% representative | 29.90% | none, as published | £303.07 | £10,911 | £14,590 |
| first direct | Bank or credit union | 5.90% representative | 18.90% | not stated | £303.07 | £10,911 | £12,913 |
| TSB | Bank or credit union | 6.10% representative | not published | not stated | £303.93 | £10,941 | — |
| Santander | Bank or credit union | 6.40% representative | 29.90% | not stated | £305.22 | £10,988 | £14,590 |
| Tesco Bank | Bank or credit union | 6.40% representative | 34.50% | not stated | £305.22 | £10,988 | £15,284 |
| HSBC UK | Bank or credit union | 6.50% representative | 22.90% | none, as published | £305.64 | £11,003 | £13,526 |
| NatWest | Bank or credit union | 6.90% representative | not published | not stated | £307.36 | £11,065 | — |
| Novuna Personal Finance | Online lender | 6.90% representative | not published | not stated | £307.36 | £11,065 | — |
| Barclays | Bank or credit union | 7.05% representative | not published | not stated | £308.00 | £11,088 | — |
| Halifax | Bank or credit union | 7.40% representative | 29.90% | not stated | £309.50 | £11,142 | £14,590 |
| Lloyds Bank | Bank or credit union | 7.40% representative | 29.90% | not stated | £309.50 | £11,142 | £14,590 |
| Metro Bank | Bank or credit union | 7.90% representative | 7.90% | none, as published | £311.65 | £11,219 | £11,219 |
| Admiral Loans | Online lender | 12.90% representative | not published | not stated | £333.07 | £11,991 | — |
| Post Office Money | Lending marketplace | 13.20% representative | not published | not stated | £334.36 | £12,037 | — |
| Monzo | Online lender | 21.20% representative | not published | not stated | £368.49 | £13,266 | — |
| Lendable | Online lender | 22.80% representative | 48.90% | not stated | £375.29 | £13,510 | £17,420 |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.
Where does the answer change?
The order above holds only under these conditions.
- If your credit is mid-range rather than top, the order changes: at the top of the published ranges Metro Bank is lowest, not M&S Bank.
- 8 lenders publish a floor but no ceiling (M&S Bank, TSB, NatWest, Novuna Personal Finance), so their worst case cannot be computed and they may cost more than any figure here.
- Do not decide yet if you might need £20,000 instead: M&S Bank stays lowest at that amount at £21,821 best case, and it publishes no ceiling, so the top of its range is not knowable from its page.
Who this is not for
This is not a list of the best lenders and it is not advice. It is every lender we hold whose published range covers this loan, in order of the published floor. We have not borrowed from them and we do not rate them; the rate you are offered is decided by the lender, not by this page.
Sources
- M&S Bank rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Nationwide rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- first direct rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- TSB rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Santander rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Tesco Bank rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- HSBC UK rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- NatWest rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Novuna Personal Finance rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Barclays rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Halifax rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Lloyds Bank rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Metro Bank rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Admiral Loans rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Post Office Money rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Monzo rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Lendable rates page. checked 2026-08-25
Related
- Every lender, and which publish a range
- Repayment calculator
- What a personal loan costs
- M&S Bank in full
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.