United Kingdom · published rates only

United Kingdom personal loans for £20,000 over 36 months, by total repayable

Of the 17 lenders whose published range covers £20,000 over 36 months, the best-case total repayable runs from £21,821 to £27,021.

The lowest floor is M&S Bank at £21,821 (5.90% APR). At the top of the published ranges the lowest is Metro Bank at £22,439 and the highest Lendable at £34,841.

For this loan, in order

The table computes each lender at both ends of its published range on the same amount and term; lenders whose published minimum, maximum or terms exclude this loan are left out rather than guessed at.

Every lender we hold whose published amounts and terms cover £20,000 over 36 months, ordered by best-case total repayable. Ties are broken alphabetically. Nothing else affects the order, and no position on this page is for sale. 17 lenders, checked 2026-09-18.
LenderTypeLowest APRHighest APRFeeMonthly, bestTotal repayable, bestTotal repayable, worst
M&S BankBank or credit union5.90% representativenot publishednone, as published£606.14£21,821—
NationwideBank or credit union5.90% representative29.90%none, as published£606.14£21,821£29,181
first directBank or credit union5.90% representative18.90%not stated£606.14£21,821£25,827
TSBBank or credit union6.10% representativenot publishednot stated£607.86£21,883—
SantanderBank or credit union6.40% representative29.90%not stated£610.43£21,976£29,181
Tesco BankBank or credit union6.40% representative34.50%not stated£610.43£21,976£30,568
HSBC UKBank or credit union6.50% representative22.90%none, as published£611.29£22,006£27,052
NatWestBank or credit union6.90% representativenot publishednot stated£614.72£22,130—
Novuna Personal FinanceOnline lender6.90% representativenot publishednot stated£614.72£22,130—
BarclaysBank or credit union7.05% representativenot publishednot stated£616.01£22,176—
HalifaxBank or credit union7.40% representative29.90%not stated£619.01£22,284£29,181
Lloyds BankBank or credit union7.40% representative29.90%not stated£619.01£22,284£29,181
Metro BankBank or credit union7.90% representative7.90%none, as published£623.30£22,439£22,439
Admiral LoansOnline lender12.90% representativenot publishednot stated£666.15£23,981—
Post Office MoneyLending marketplace13.20% representativenot publishednot stated£668.72£24,074—
MonzoOnline lender21.20% representativenot publishednot stated£736.99£26,532—
LendableOnline lender22.80% representative48.90%not stated£750.58£27,021£34,841

Scroll sideways on a phone.

How that is worked out

amount received = the amount you want in your account (10,000 on most pages) amount signed for = amount received / (1 - origination fee %) monthly rate = APR / 12 (United States) or (1 + APR)^(1/12) - 1 (United Kingdom) monthly payment = amount received x monthly rate / (1 - (1 + monthly rate)^(-months)) total repayable = monthly payment x months cost of credit = total repayable - amount received cost per 1,000 = cost of credit / (amount received / 1,000)

Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.

Where does the answer change?

The order above holds only under these conditions.

Who this is not for

This is not a list of the best lenders and it is not advice. It is every lender we hold whose published range covers this loan, in order of the published floor. We have not borrowed from them and we do not rate them; the rate you are offered is decided by the lender, not by this page.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.