Bank or credit union · United States
Navy Federal Credit Union personal loan: what you repay on $10,000
At its lowest published APR of 8.74%, Navy Federal Credit Union costs $316.79 a month on $10,000 over 36 months, or $11,404 in total — $1,404 of interest.
At the top of its published range, 18.00% APR, the same loan is $361.52 a month and $13,015 in total. The published range is worth $1,610 on this loan.
What does the lender publish?
Navy Federal Credit Union publishes the terms below on its own site; the wording of its rate disclosure is quoted further down.
| Term | As published |
|---|---|
| Lowest published APR | 8.74% |
| Highest published APR | 18.00% |
| Origination or arrangement fee | none, as published |
| Loan amounts | $250 to $150,000 |
| Terms | up to 180 months |
| Early-repayment charge | none, as published |
| Late fee | A late payment fee will be charged if you don't make your monthly loan payments on time. |
| Rate check without a hard credit search | not stated |
Shortest term: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Minimum credit score: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Whether the rate check is a soft search: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
States not served: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).
What does it come to at other amounts and terms?
Each row re-computes the loan at the lowest and highest published APR, with the lowest and highest published fee.
| Borrow | Over | You sign for (worst fee) | Monthly, best case | Total repayable, best case | Monthly, worst case | Total repayable, worst case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $5,000 | 36 months | $5,000 | $158.39 | $5,702 | $180.76 | $6,507 |
| $5,000 | 60 months | $5,000 | $103.16 | $6,190 | $126.97 | $7,618 |
| $10,000 | 36 months | $10,000 | $316.79 | $11,404 | $361.52 | $13,015 |
| $10,000 | 60 months | $10,000 | $206.32 | $12,379 | $253.93 | $15,236 |
| $20,000 | 36 months | $20,000 | $633.58 | $22,809 | $723.05 | $26,030 |
| $20,000 | 60 months | $20,000 | $412.65 | $24,759 | $507.87 | $30,472 |
| $35,000 | 36 months | $35,000 | $1,108.76 | $39,915 | $1,265.33 | $45,552 |
| $35,000 | 60 months | $35,000 | $722.13 | $43,328 | $888.77 | $53,326 |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.
Is there an origination fee?
Navy Federal Credit Union states that it charges no origination or arrangement fee, so the amount you borrow is the amount that reaches you. checked 2026-08-25
The APR published by the lender already includes the origination fee, which is why the payment here is worked out on the amount you receive at the published APR, not on the larger amount you sign for at a lower interest rate. Both routes give the same payment; the lender's own example, where it publishes one, is the check.
What does the rate disclosure say?
8.74-18.00% APR for terms up to 36 months; 10.69-18.00% APR for terms of 37 to 60 months. Rates are subject to change and based on creditworthiness, so your rate may differ.
Quoted from the lender's page. checked 2026-08-25
What we recorded when we read the page
The checker's notes for this row, kept as written so that you can see what was read, what was quoted and what could not be read. Wording in quotation marks is the lender's.
Membership required: "You must be at least 18 years old and a Navy Federal member." Rates/amounts/terms vary by loan purpose: Personal Expense/Home Improvement $250-$150,000 (Home Improvement terms up to 180 months); Debt Consolidation $250-$50,000. term_max_months here reflects the longest stated term (Home Improvement, 61-180 months); term_min_months left unconfirmed given the multi-product structure. Source: https://www.navyfederal.org/loans-cards/personal-loans.html
Who owns it?
Who owns this lender is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.
Where this leaves you
- If the best-case total is what matters, PenFed Credit Union works out at $10,967 on the same basis — compare the two.
- Do not decide yet if you are choosing the term to get the payment down: the same $10,000 over 60 months is $206.32 a month instead of $316.79, but $12,379 in total instead of $11,404 — the term is the number you control.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review and it is not an offer. We have not borrowed from Navy Federal Credit Union, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published range turns into as a monthly payment and a total, before you apply.
Sources
- Navy Federal Credit Union rates page — every figure on this page. checked 2026-08-25
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Navy Federal Credit Union alternatives, by total repayable
- Every lender we hold, and which publish a range
- Work out your own repayment
- APR, fee and term: the three numbers behind the payment
- How these figures are produced
- Navy Federal Credit Union vs PenFed Credit Union
- Navy Federal Credit Union vs Wells Fargo
- Navy Federal Credit Union vs Discover
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.