Online lender · United States

SoFi personal loan: what you repay on $10,000

At its lowest published APR of 6.99%, SoFi costs $308.73 a month on $10,000 over 36 months, or $11,114 in total — $1,114 of interest.

At the top of its published range, 35.49% APR with the highest fee of 7%, the same loan is $455.14 a month and $16,385 in total, having signed for $10,753 so that $10,000 arrives. The published range is worth $5,271 on this loan.

What does the lender publish?

SoFi publishes the terms below on its own site; the wording of its rate disclosure is quoted further down.

Source: SoFi rates page. checked 2026-08-25
TermAs published
Lowest published APR6.99% with autopay; +0.25 without
Highest published APR35.49%
Origination or arrangement fee0% to 7%
Loan amounts$5,000 to $100,000
Terms24 to 84 months
Early-repayment chargenone, as published
Late feeno late fees whatsoever
Rate check without a hard credit searchnot stated

Minimum credit score: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Whether the rate check is a soft search: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

States not served: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-08-25).

What does it come to at other amounts and terms?

Each row re-computes the loan at the lowest and highest published APR, with the lowest and highest published fee.

Computed from the published APR range and fee range. Best case is the lowest APR with the lowest fee; worst case the highest of each. “You sign for” is the loan amount needed for $10,000 to reach your account after the highest published fee is deducted; interest on the fee is inside the APR. checked 2026-08-25
BorrowOverYou sign for (worst fee)Monthly, best caseTotal repayable, best caseMonthly, worst caseTotal repayable, worst case
$5,00036 months$5,376$154.36$5,557$227.57$8,192
$5,00060 months$5,376$98.98$5,939$179.02$10,741
$10,00036 months$10,753$308.73$11,114$455.14$16,385
$10,00060 months$10,753$197.96$11,878$358.05$21,483
$20,00036 months$21,505$617.45$22,228$910.28$32,770
$20,00060 months$21,505$395.93$23,756$716.09$42,966
$35,00036 months$37,634$1,080.54$38,899$1,592.98$57,347
$35,00060 months$37,634$692.88$41,573$1,253.16$75,190

Scroll sideways on a phone.

How that is worked out

amount received = the amount you want in your account (10,000 on most pages) amount signed for = amount received / (1 - origination fee %) monthly rate = APR / 12 (United States) or (1 + APR)^(1/12) - 1 (United Kingdom) monthly payment = amount received x monthly rate / (1 - (1 + monthly rate)^(-months)) total repayable = monthly payment x months cost of credit = total repayable - amount received cost per 1,000 = cost of credit / (amount received / 1,000)

Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.

Is there an origination fee?

SoFi publishes an origination fee of 0% to 7%, deducted from the loan before it reaches you. At the top of that range, to have $10,000 actually arrive you would need to borrow $10,753, and interest runs on the whole of it. checked 2026-08-25

The APR published by the lender already includes the origination fee, which is why the payment here is worked out on the amount you receive at the published APR, not on the larger amount you sign for at a lower interest rate. Both routes give the same payment; the lender's own example, where it publishes one, is the check.

What does the rate disclosure say?

Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi rate ranges are current as of 8/25/26 and are subject to change without notice.

Quoted from the lender's page. checked 2026-08-25

What we recorded when we read the page

The checker's notes for this row, kept as written so that you can see what was read, what was quoted and what could not be read. Wording in quotation marks is the lender's.

SoFi's rate reduction footnote: a 0.25% interest rate reduction for enrolling in autopay, plus an additional 0.25% reduction for SoFi Plus subscription / qualifying direct deposits. Several other SoFi URLs (e.g. /personal-loan/, /legal/rates-fees/, /legal/personal-loan-origination-disclosure/) returned 404 or required JavaScript on 2026-08-25, so max APR, amounts, terms, fees and credit-score requirements could not be confirmed from an official page. Source: https://www.sofi.com/personal-loans/ Loan amounts range from $5,000-$100,000. 'The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 0%-7%, which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.' 'Choose from 2-7 year terms.' The origination fee is optional (taken in exchange for a lower rate); the page also says 'no origination fees required'. The 6.99% floor also assumes a 0.25% member rate discount. Read in the requester's Chrome (Claude in Chrome) on 2026-08-25.

Who owns it?

Who owns this lender is not stated on its own site, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. We have left it blank rather than repeat what other sites say.

Where this leaves you

Who this page is not for

This is not a review and it is not an offer. We have not borrowed from SoFi, we hold no opinion on its service, and nothing here is a recommendation or advice. It answers one question: what the published range turns into as a monthly payment and a total, before you apply.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.