Countertop POS for retail · United Kingdom
Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) card processing fees: what a shop actually pays
On its cheapest published plan, Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) charges 0.50% + £0.03 on a card taken in person. For a shop taking £5,000 a month on cards, that plan costs £54 a month — 1.07% of everything it takes once the monthly fee and the hardware are counted across three years. The shop keeps 98.93%.
That is 0.57 percentage points above the advertised 0.50%. The difference is the £21.00 monthly fee and the £0.03 charged on every sale.
What does the provider publish?
Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) publishes the plans below on its own pricing page; the last column quotes the conditions in the provider's words.
| Plan | Monthly fee | Hardware | In person | Online or keyed | Effective at 5,000 a month | As published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Castles Saturn terminal | £23.00 ex VAT | not stated | 0.50% + £0.03 | not published | 1.11% | GBP 23 monthly rental + VAT. Visa Debit and Mastercard Credit 0.5% service charge plus GBP 0.03 authorisation. Minimum monthly charge GBP 10. |
| Clover Flex | £21.00 ex VAT | not stated | 0.50% + £0.03 | not published | 1.07% | GBP 21 monthly rental + VAT, with an optional GBP 10 SIM. Card-not-present adds 0.25%; the gateway is GBP 0.13 per transaction. |
UK providers do not publish on the same basis. Monthly fees and hardware are printed exactly as published, and where the provider states the basis we print it. At 20% VAT an ex-VAT fee is 1.2 times higher on the invoice, so an ex-VAT figure and an inc-VAT figure are not comparable as printed. We do not convert between them.
Scroll sideways on a phone.
Contract length: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
Online or keyed rate: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
Chargeback fee: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
PCI fee: not stated in the provider's published pages (checked 2026-08-25).
What does it cost at the size of shop you actually are?
The same plan is a different price depending on how much goes through the card machine, because the fixed part does not move.
| Plan | £1,000 | £2,000 | £5,000 | £10,000 | £25,000 | £50,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Castles Saturn terminal | 2.95% | 1.80% | 1.11% | 0.88% | 0.74% | 0.70% |
| Clover Flex | 2.75% | 1.70% | 1.07% | 0.86% | 0.73% | 0.69% |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
The average sale is an assumption of this site, not a published figure: $25.00 in the United States and £20.00 in the United Kingdom. It decides how heavily a per-transaction fee lands, so the calculator lets you change it. Interchange, chargebacks, refunds, currency conversion, sales tax and VAT are not in any figure on this site, because the pricing page does not price them for a given shop. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.
What is fixed and what moves with sales?
Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) publishes both the percentage and the per-transaction fee. On Castles Saturn terminal the fixed part is £23.00 a month before a single card is tapped, which is 0.46% of card sales at £5,000 a month and 0.05% at £50,000. checked 2026-08-25
A percentage on its own says nothing about what a small shop pays. The monthly fee, the terminal and the per-transaction fee are fixed amounts, so they land hardest on the shops with the least card volume — which is the opposite of how the headline rate reads.
Who owns it?
Owned by Lloyds Bank. Source. checked 2026-08-25
Where this leaves you
- If the shop takes under £2,000 a month, this plan is 2.75% of card sales, not 1.07%. The fixed part is the whole of that difference.
- There is a minimum monthly charge of £10.00. Below about £2,000 of card sales a month you pay it whether you trade or not.
- Do not decide yet if your card takings move with the season: this plan is 1.07% of sales at £5,000 a month and 0.69% at £50,000, and chargebacks, refunds and foreign cards are in neither figure — what the headline rate leaves out.
Who this page is not for
This is not a review. We have not used Cardnet (Lloyds Bank), we hold no opinion on its hardware or its support, and nothing here is a recommendation. It answers one question: what the published price turns into as a share of card sales.
Sources
- Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) pricing page — every figure on this page. checked 2026-08-25
- Ownership source. checked 2026-08-25
- data.json — the row behind this page, with the source URL and check date on every figure.
Related
- Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) alternatives, by effective rate
- Every provider we hold, and which publish a rate
- Work out your own effective rate
- The three numbers behind a card rate: the fixed fee, the flat fee and the floor
- How these figures are produced
- Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) vs Dojo
- Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) vs Elavon
- Cardnet (Lloyds Bank) vs Epos Now
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.