United Kingdom · published rates only
United Kingdom personal loans for £35,000 over 36 months, by total repayable
Of the 10 lenders whose published range covers £35,000 over 36 months, the best-case total repayable runs from £38,187 to £46,430.
The lowest floor is Nationwide at £38,187 (5.90% APR). At the top of the published ranges the lowest is first direct at £45,197 and the highest Tesco Bank at £53,495.
For this loan, in order
The table computes each lender at both ends of its published range on the same amount and term; lenders whose published minimum, maximum or terms exclude this loan are left out rather than guessed at.
| Lender | Type | Lowest APR | Highest APR | Fee | Monthly, best | Total repayable, best | Total repayable, worst |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nationwide | Bank or credit union | 5.90% representative | 29.90% | none, as published | £1,060.75 | £38,187 | £51,066 |
| first direct | Bank or credit union | 5.90% representative | 18.90% | not stated | £1,060.75 | £38,187 | £45,197 |
| TSB | Bank or credit union | 6.10% representative | not published | not stated | £1,063.75 | £38,295 | — |
| Tesco Bank | Bank or credit union | 6.40% representative | 34.50% | not stated | £1,068.25 | £38,457 | £53,495 |
| NatWest | Bank or credit union | 6.90% representative | not published | not stated | £1,075.76 | £38,727 | — |
| Novuna Personal Finance | Online lender | 6.90% representative | not published | not stated | £1,075.76 | £38,727 | — |
| Barclays | Bank or credit union | 7.05% representative | not published | not stated | £1,078.01 | £38,808 | — |
| Halifax | Bank or credit union | 7.40% representative | 29.90% | not stated | £1,083.27 | £38,998 | £51,066 |
| Lloyds Bank | Bank or credit union | 7.40% representative | 29.90% | not stated | £1,083.27 | £38,998 | £51,066 |
| Monzo | Online lender | 21.20% representative | not published | not stated | £1,289.73 | £46,430 | — |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.
Where does the answer change?
The order above holds only under these conditions.
- If your credit is mid-range rather than top, the order changes: at the top of the published ranges first direct is lowest, not Nationwide.
- 5 lenders publish a floor but no ceiling (TSB, NatWest, Novuna Personal Finance, Barclays), so their worst case cannot be computed and they may cost more than any figure here.
- Do not decide yet without looking at 60 months: the monthly payment falls but the total rises, and the same amount over 60 months has its own order.
Who this is not for
This is not a list of the best lenders and it is not advice. It is every lender we hold whose published range covers this loan, in order of the published floor. We have not borrowed from them and we do not rate them; the rate you are offered is decided by the lender, not by this page.
Sources
- Nationwide rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- first direct rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- TSB rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Tesco Bank rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- NatWest rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Novuna Personal Finance rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Barclays rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Halifax rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Lloyds Bank rates page. checked 2026-08-25
- Monzo rates page. checked 2026-08-25
Related
- Every lender, and which publish a range
- Repayment calculator
- What a personal loan costs
- Nationwide in full
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.