Every lender we hold, and what the loan costs to repay
47 lender rows across the United States and the United Kingdom. 40 publish a rate we could read; 6 show one only after you apply; 1 served our checker a page we could not read.
39 carry enough detail to compute a total repayable, 28 of those publish both ends of their range, and 11 charge an origination fee.
| Lender | Type | Market | Lowest APR | Highest APR | Fee | Total repayable, best | Total repayable, worst |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Barclays | Bank or credit union | UK | 7.05% representative | not published | not stated | £11,088 | — |
| first direct | Bank or credit union | UK | 5.90% representative | 18.90% | not stated | £10,911 | £12,913 |
| Halifax | Bank or credit union | UK | 7.40% representative | 29.90% | not stated | £11,142 | £14,590 |
| HSBC UK | Bank or credit union | UK | 6.50% representative | 22.90% | none, as published | £11,003 | £13,526 |
| Lloyds Bank | Bank or credit union | UK | 7.40% representative | 29.90% | not stated | £11,142 | £14,590 |
| M&S Bank | Bank or credit union | UK | 5.90% representative | not published | none, as published | £10,911 | — |
| Metro Bank | Bank or credit union | UK | 7.90% representative | 7.90% | none, as published | £11,219 | £11,219 |
| Nationwide | Bank or credit union | UK | 5.90% representative | 29.90% | none, as published | £10,911 | £14,590 |
| NatWest | Bank or credit union | UK | 6.90% representative | not published | not stated | £11,065 | — |
| Sainsbury's Bank | Bank or credit union | UK | shows a rate only after you apply | shows a rate only after you apply | — | shows a rate only after you apply | shows a rate only after you apply |
| Santander | Bank or credit union | UK | 6.40% representative | 29.90% | not stated | £10,988 | £14,590 |
| Tesco Bank | Bank or credit union | UK | 6.40% representative | 34.50% | not stated | £10,988 | £15,284 |
| TSB | Bank or credit union | UK | 6.10% representative | not published | not stated | £10,941 | — |
| AA Loans | Lending marketplace | UK | shows a rate only after you apply | shows a rate only after you apply | — | shows a rate only after you apply | shows a rate only after you apply |
| Post Office Money | Lending marketplace | UK | 13.20% representative | not published | not stated | £12,037 | — |
| Admiral Loans | Online lender | UK | 12.90% representative | not published | not stated | £11,991 | — |
| Lendable | Online lender | UK | 22.80% representative | 48.90% | not stated | £13,510 | £17,420 |
| Monzo | Online lender | UK | 21.20% representative | not published | not stated | £13,266 | — |
| Novuna Personal Finance | Online lender | UK | 6.90% representative | not published | not stated | £11,065 | — |
| Zopa | Online lender | UK | shows a rate only after you apply | shows a rate only after you apply | — | shows a rate only after you apply | shows a rate only after you apply |
| Alliant Credit Union | Bank or credit union | US | 8.99% with autopay; +0.40 without | 11.99% | none, as published | $11,446 | $11,955 |
| Axos Bank | Bank or credit union | US | shows a rate only after you apply | shows a rate only after you apply | — | shows a rate only after you apply | shows a rate only after you apply |
| Citi | Bank or credit union | US | 9.99% with autopay; +0.50 without | 17.49% | none, as published | $11,614 | $12,923 |
| Discover | Bank or credit union | US | 6.99% | 24.99% | none, as published | $11,114 | $14,312 |
| First Tech Federal Credit Union | Bank or credit union | US | 6.99% | not published | not stated | $11,114 | — |
| Navy Federal Credit Union | Bank or credit union | US | 8.74% | 18.00% | none, as published | $11,404 | $13,015 |
| PenFed Credit Union | Bank or credit union | US | 6.09% with autopay; +0.25 without | not published | none, as published | $10,967 | — |
| PNC | Bank or credit union | US | floor not published | 25.29% | — | — | — |
| TD Bank (TD Fit Loan) | Bank or credit union | US | 7.99% | 23.99% | none, as published | $11,279 | $14,122 |
| U.S. Bank | Bank or credit union | US | shows a rate only after you apply | shows a rate only after you apply | — | shows a rate only after you apply | shows a rate only after you apply |
| Wells Fargo | Bank or credit union | US | 6.74% | 26.74% | none, as published | $11,073 | $14,647 |
| Happen | Lending marketplace | US | 5.96% | 35.96% | 0% to 8% | $10,945 | $16,481 |
| Happy Money | Lending marketplace | US | 8.95% with autopay | not published | not stated | $11,440 | — |
| Prosper | Lending marketplace | US | 8.99% | 35.99% | not stated | $11,446 | $16,487 |
| Universal Credit | Lending marketplace | US | 11.69% with autopay | 35.99% | 5.25% to 9.99% | $11,904 | $16,487 |
| Upstart | Lending marketplace | US | 6.30% | 35.99% | not stated | $11,001 | $16,487 |
| Achieve | Online lender | US | 6.25% | 35.99% | 1.99% to 9.99% | $10,993 | $16,487 |
| Avant | Online lender | US | 9.95% | 35.99% | up to 9.99% | $11,608 | $16,487 |
| Best Egg | Online lender | US | 6.99% | 35.99% | 0.99% to 9.99% | $11,114 | $16,487 |
| LendingPoint | Online lender | US | 7.99% | 35.99% | up to 10% | $11,279 | $16,487 |
| LightStream | Online lender | US | 7.24% with autopay; +0.50 without | 24.89% | none, as published | $11,155 | $14,293 |
| OneMain Financial | Online lender | US | 11.99% | 35.99% | 1% to 10% | $11,955 | $16,487 |
| Oportun | Online lender | US | shows a rate only after you apply | shows a rate only after you apply | — | shows a rate only after you apply | shows a rate only after you apply |
| Reach Financial | Online lender | US | rate not readable on the published page | rate not readable on the published page | — | rate not readable on the published page | rate not readable on the published page |
| Rocket Loans | Online lender | US | 7.99% with autopay | 29.99% | 3.23% to 9.99% | $11,279 | $15,281 |
| SoFi | Online lender | US | 6.99% with autopay; +0.25 without | 35.49% | 0% to 7% | $11,114 | $16,385 |
| Upgrade | Online lender | US | 7.74% | 35.99% | 1.85% to 9.99% | $11,238 | $16,487 |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
How the totals are worked out
Nothing else is added. The APR already includes the origination fee by law in both markets, so the payment is worked out on the amount you actually receive, at the APR, over the term — which is exactly how the lender's own representative example is built. The fee shows up as the larger amount you sign for, and the interest on it is inside the APR. Late fees, optional insurance and early-settlement charges are not in any figure on this site, because they depend on what happens after you sign. Best case uses the lowest published APR and the lowest published fee; worst case the highest of each. The full method is at Method.
Related
- Repayment calculator
- How the ordering is produced
- What a personal loan costs
- The whole dataset (CC BY 4.0)
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.